YSRCP virtually wiped out despite polling 39.37 pc votes

Amaravati: The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) has been virtually wiped out in Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections despite polling 39.37 per cent votes.

The party not only lost power to the TDP-JSP-BJP alliance but suffered humiliation as it could win just 11 seats, down from 151 which it had bagged in 2019 elections in the 175-member Assembly.

The forging of the TDP-JSP-BJP alliance proved to be a game changer as their combined vote share of 55.32 per cent gave them a massive victory.

The TDP-led alliance won 164 seats to decimate Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP.

The TDP, which contested 144 seats, bagged 135, polling 45.60 per cent votes.

With a 100 per cent strike rate, Jana Sena led by actor Pawan Kalyan won all 21 seats it contested with a vote share of 6.86 per cent.

The BJP won eight out of 10 seats it contested with a vote share of 2.86 per cent.

In 2019, when TDP and BJP had contested on their own and Jana Sena had an alliance with the BSP and the Left parties, YSRCP had scored a landslide victory, bagging 151 seats with a 49.95 per cent vote share.

The TDP was distant second with 23 seats and 39.17 per cent vote share.

Jana Sena had polled 5.53 per cent votes but won a single seat.

The BJP then drew a blank, polling a mere 0.84 per cent votes.

The YSRCP had also bagged 22 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats while the TDP secured the remaining three seats.

This time, the TDP won 16 out of the 17 Lok Sabha seats it contested.

The BJP, which was allotted six seats, bagged three while Jana Sena won both the seats it contested on.

Interestingly, the YSRCP’s vote share was higher than that of the TDP in Lok Sabha polls.

Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP polled 37.79 per cent votes while YSRCP’s vote share was 39.61 per cent and it bagged four seats.

The gains for the BJP were clear in Lok Sabha polls as it polled 11.28 per cent votes.

Jana Sena secured 4.36 per cent votes. The combined vote share of the alliance was 53.43 per cent, about two per cent lower than the votes it secured in the Assembly polls.



Unexpected Camaraderie: Sonia Gandhi, Jaya Bachchan break barriers with smiles

New Delhi: A video on Wednesday captured a significant moment: Sonia Gandhi and Jaya Bachchan engaged in a jovial conversation in Parliament, sharing laughter and signalling a potential thaw in...

Jayant Chaudhary criticises Yogi govt’s nameplate order for Kanwar Yarta

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) Jayant Chaudhary on Sunday criticised the Yogi government over its nameplate order directing all eateries and dhabas along the Kanwar Yatra route to...

Oppn raises Kanwar Yatra issue, NDA allies seek special status for Bihar at all-party meet

New Delhi: The Centre on Sunday in the all-party meeting urged the parties to ensure the smooth functioning of Parliament even as the opposition raised the Kanwar Yatra row and...

NDA allies ‘sacrificed’ ministerial berths for money: Mamata Banerjee

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday alleged that the BJP allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre “sacrificed” ministerial berths for money. “Have you...

Current Union govt won’t last long: Akhilesh Yadav

Kolkata: The current NDA government at the Centre will not last long and it will get toppled very soon, claimed Samajwadi Party President and Lok Sabha MP Akhilesh Yadav on...

Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav two architects of LS election outcome: Abhishek Banerjee

Kolkata: In a significant statement, Trinamool Congress General Secretary and MP Abhishek Banerjee, on Sunday, said that West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav are...

Union Minister Jitin Prasada’s car meets with accident in Pilibhit

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) for Commerce and Industry, Jitin Prasada, had a close shave on Saturday after his car met with an accident in Uttar Pradesh’s Pilibhit...

Assam to become Muslim-majority state by 2041: CM Sarma

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said on Friday that the population of Muslims is increasing every decade by at least 29 to 30 per cent and the state...

Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Read Previous

Shares of Adani Portfolio companies rebound, led by Adani Green

Read Next

Hindu vote split against Muslim consolidation for Trinamool ensured Adhir’s defeat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com