BJP likely to form govt for 2nd consecutive term in Tripura

Agartala: The ruling BJP is likely to form government for the second consecutive term in Tripura as it has won four seats and is leading in 29 others in the 60-member Assembly.

Counting of votes is in progress in 60 centres at 21 locations across the northeastern state.

According to the latest available trends and announcements of results, the tribal-based Tipra Motha Party (TMP), which for the first time contested the Assembly election in 42 seats, was leading in 12 seats followed by CPI(M) with leads in 11 seats and Congress in three seats.

The candidate of BJP ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) is leading in Jolaibari seat in southern Tripura.

BJP candidates won in Amarpur, Kamalasagar, Mohanpur and Santir Bazar.

Tripura Chief Minister and BJP candidate Manik Saha is leading in Town Bordowali seat, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma is ahead in Charilam seat, Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik in Dhanpur seat, Rampada Jamatia in Bagma, Sushanta Chowdhury in Majlishpur, Ratan Chakraborty in Khayerpur, Surajit Datta in Ramnagar and Ram Prasad Paul in Surjyamaninagar.

The CPI(M) candidates are leading in 11 seats, including Pratapgarh, Barjala, Bamutia, Belonia, Hrishamukh, Sabroom, Sonamura.

Among the important CPI(M) candidates leading are state party Secretary Jitendra Chowdhury (Sabroom seat), Sudip Sarkar (Barjala), Dipankar Sen (Belonia), Shyamal Chakraborty (Sonamura).

Congress, which contested the February 16 Assembly elections in seat sharing adjustments with the Left parties, is leading in Agartala, Banamalipur, and Kailashahar seats.

The Congress candidates leading in the counting of votes include Sudip Roy Barman in Agartala seat, Gopal Chandra Roy in Banamalipur seat and state Congress President Birajit Sinha in Kailashahar seat.

Among the important TMP candidates leading include Chitta Ranjan Debbarma (Ambassa seat), Pathan Lal Jamatia (Ampinagar), Animesh Debbarma (Asharambari) and Paul Dangshu (Karamchara).

In the February 16 elections to the 60 seat Tripura Assembly, 89.95 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise and will decide the fate of 259 candidates, including 31 women.

Assam passes resolution against BBC docu amid uproar

Guwahati: The Assam Assembly on Tuesday passed a resolution seeking action against the BBC for its documentary on Gujarat riots -- 'India: The Modi Question'. The state Assembly witnessed an...

JD-U’s new Executive Committee announced, K.C. Tyagi not in list

Patna: After a long time, Janata Dal United (JD-U) on Tuesday announced a new national Executive Committee and senior leader Mangni Lal Mandal has been given the post of national...

‘Bunch of illiterate people from top to bottom’: Kejriwal on Delhi Budget row

New Delhi: Addressing the ongoing Delhi assembly session over the budget row, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday said that "there is a bunch of illiterate people from top to...

Significant human rights issues in India, says US State Department report

An annual United States report, released on Monday, indicted India on human rights situation underlining that the country in 2022 saw significant “human rights issues”, mainly against minorities and rights...

Nitish Kumar is ‘mentally unfit’: BJP MLA

Patna: BJP MLA Hari Bhushan Thakur on Tuesday said Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is "mentally unfit" and "misleading" 13 crore people of the state by giving "wrong" statements. He...

Mumbai court rejects Javed Akhtar’s plea over remarks comparing RSS with Taliban

A sessions court in Mumbai rejected a plea filed by lyricist Javed Akhtar challenging a Magistrate order summoning him in a criminal defamation complaint for his alleged remarks comparing the...

VHP to install flags with ‘Om’ at around 5 lakh houses

Prayagraj: The Vishwa Hindu Parishad (Kashi Prant) has decided to install saffron flags with 'Om' printed on them, at around five lakh houses in Kashi Prant comprising 17 districts of...

Sambit Patra calls Rahul Gandhi present-day Mir Jafar of Indian politics

New Delhi: BJP national spokesperson Sambit Patra on Tuesday called Congress leader Rahul Gandhi present-day Mir Jafar of Indian politics and sought an apology over the latter's speech in the...

Kejriwal writes to PM Modi over ‘stopping’ Delhi Budget

New Delhi: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday wrote to Prime Minister Narendra Modi over "stopping" of the national capital's Budget. "For the first time in the history of...

Azaan at DC office: K’taka BJP MLA Eshwarappa says its an ‘act of sedition’

Shivamogga (Karnataka): BJP MLA and former Karnataka Minister K.S. Eshwarappa on Monday trigerred a fresh controversy calling it an 'act of sedition', after a video of a Muslim youth performing...

LS adjourned for the day amid protests by treasury benches over Rahul’s remarks

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha was on Monday adjourned for the day till Tuesday after noisy protests by treasury benches over Rahul Gandhi's remarks on democracy. As soon as the...

This is to divert attention from Adani issue: Kharge on police reaching Rahul’s house

New Delhi: After Delhi Police reached residence of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday, party's National President Mallikarjun Kharge said that Congress will not stop questioning on Adani row. Kharge...

Read Previous

Conrad Sangma thanks people for voting for NPP

Read Next

Hathras gang rape case: No one found guilty of rape, court acquits 3 of four accused  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :