Cong headed for best ever show after 2014 elections, show early trends

New Delhi: As per the latest trends provided by the Election Commission of India, the Congress was leading in 97 Lok Sabha seats, sending in a wave of joy among the party workers.

If the party can maintain the trends, it could be headed to its best performance since 2014. The party won 44 seats in 2014 and 52 in the 2019 election. In 2009 the party — then heading the United Progressive Alliance — had won 206 seats.

In 2014 the Congress — then led by Rahul Gandhi — slumped to a massive defeat, losing 162 seats and dropping nearly 9.3 per cent of the vote share.

In 2019 the BJP maintained its lead further and won 303 seats on its own. The NDA then got 353 seats.

The Hindi belt was key to the BJP’s victory, with the party picking up 74 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 39 in Bihar, and 28 in Madhya Pradesh. It also swept Gujarat, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Delhi, winning 77 seats from these states. With Chhattisgarh’s nine and Jharkhand’s 11, the BJP amassed 238 seats from this belt.

The Congress, which was contesting under the leadership of Rahul Gandhi, slumped again in this belt. It managed to win just six seats on its own and seven with the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

Rahul Gandhi suffered a shock defeat in Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi constituency.



INDIA bloc wants to include Chandrashekhar Azad for 2027 UP polls

Lucknow: Buoyed up by its recent victory in the Lok Sabha elections, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress in Uttar Pradesh are now looking to expand their vote base...

Amit Shah advises security forces to crush terrorism in J&K at all cost

New Delhi: Union Home Minister Amit Shah, on Sunday, directed security forces to crush growing terrorism in Jammu division, wipe it out from Jammu & Kashmir and ensure complete security...

TMC announces candidates for bypolls to four assembly seats in Bengal

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress on Friday announced the names of party candidates for by-elections to four assembly constituencies scheduled on July 10. The party has fielded Krishna Kalyani, who won from...

Resolve Maratha demands by Friday: Jarange-Patil warns Maha govt

Jalna (Maharashtra): On the sixth day of his hunger strike, Shivba Sanghatana leader Manoj Jarange-Patil on Thursday served an ultimatum to the Maharashtra government to decide on the pending Maratha...

Pema Khandu takes oath as Arunachal CM for 3rd straight term

Itanagar: Pema Khandu, who was re-elected as the BJP Legislature Party leader on Wednesday, took oath as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister for the third straight term on Thursday. Governor Lt-Gen...

Rahul Gandhi in dilemma on whether to retain Wayanad or Raebareli

Kozhikode: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday said that he was in a dilemma as to which constituency he should relinquish -- Wayanad or Raebareli. He was in his constituency,...

Trinamool’s Abhishek Banerjee announces ‘short hiatus’ from political activities

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress’ General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee, on Wednesday afternoon, announced his decision to take a “short hiatus” from political and organisational activities. He has cited medical grounds as the...

Chandrababu Naidu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, turns emotional

Vijayawada: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president Nara Chandrababu Naidu turned emotional after taking oath as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh here on Wednesday. Naidu hugged Prime Minister Narendra Modi soon...

First session of 18th Lok Sabha begins on June 24

New Delhi: A special 10-day session of the Lok Sabha will commence on June 24 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members, Election of Speaker, President’s Address and discussion. This was...

AAP slams NDA govt over induction of Manjhi in Cabinet, cites his insulting remarks on Lord Ram

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday trained its guns at the NDA government over the induction of Jitan Ram Manjhi in the Union Cabinet despite the latter’s...

Amaravati is capital of Andhra Pradesh, declares Chandrababu Naidu

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister-designate N. Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday declared that Amaravati is the state capital. Addressing a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA),...

These UP MPs may lose membership if they get convicted

Lucknow: At least six newly elected MPs of the INDIA bloc and one more, are facing criminal charges which could attract a jail term of more than two years. If...

Read Previous

TDP-led alliance heading for clean sweep in Andhra Assembly polls

Read Next

Battleground Bengal: Trinamool takes early lead on 23 seats, BJP follows with 9

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :