BJP secures simple majority to retain power in Tripura, to support NPP In Meghalya

Agartala: The BJP retained power in Tripura for the second straight term by winning 32 seats, one more than the magic figure of 31 in the 60-member state assembly, for which elections were held on February 16.

According to the results declared by the Election Commission on Thursday, the tribal-based Tipra Motha Party (TMP), which for the first time contested 42 seats on its own, emerged as the second largest party securing 13 seats. The CPI-M won 11 seats while the Congress bagged three.

The CPI-M led Left Front, which contested the elections in a seat-sharing arrangement with the Congress, had fielded 47 candidates while 13 seats were allotted to the Congress.

BJP ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) won the Jolaibari seat in southern Tripura.

In the 2018 Assembly polls, the BJP had won 36 seats, its ally IPTF bagged eight seats while the CPI-M had secured 16 seats.

However, the Trinamool Congress, which carried out a high-voltage campaign in Tripura in the run-up to the elections, failed to open its account in the state.

Most of the top BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Manik Saha, his cabinet colleague Ratan Lal Nath and Union minister Pratima Bhowmik, were re-elected from Town Bordowali, Mohanpur and Dhanpur, respectively.

However, Deputy Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Jishnu Dev Varma lost in Charilam against TMP’s Subodh Deb Barma by a narrow margin of 858 votes.

State BJP President and firts-time contestant Rajib Bhattacharjee lost in Banamalipur against former state Congress chief Gopal Chandra Roy by a margin of 1,369 votes. In the 2018 Assembly polls, former Chief Minister and BJP leader Biplab Kumar Deb had won from Banamalipur.

State ministers Rampada Jamatia (Bagma), Sushanta Chowdhury (Majlishpur), Ratan Lal Nath (Mohanpur), Ram Prasad Paul (Surjyamaninagar), Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty (Khayerpur), Deputy Speaker Biswa Bandhu Sen (Dharmanagar), veteran BJP leader Surajit Datta (Ramnagar) were also re-elected to the state Assembly.

However, BJP’s two sitting MLAs — Dilip Das (Barjala) and Krishnadhan Das (Bamutia) — lost against CPI-M candidates.

The CPI-M won 11 seats — in Pratapgarh, Khowai, Kadamtala-Kurt, Sabroom, Sonamura, Bamutia, Hrishamukh, Jubarajnagar, Belonia, Boxanaga and Barjala.

Important CPI-M candidates who won included are state Secretary Jitendra Chowdhury (Sabroom), Sudip Sarkar (Barjala), Dipankar Sen (Belonia and Shyamal Chakraborty (Sonamura).

Congress candidates Sudip Roy Barman, Gopal Chandra Roy and state Congress chief Birajit Sinha were re-elected from Agartala, Banamalipur and Kailashahar, respectively.

Among the important TMP candidates who won were Chitta Ranjan Debbarma (Ambassa), Pathan Lal Jamatia (Ampinagar), Animesh Debbarma (Asharambari) and Paul Dangshu (Karamchara).

As many as 89.95 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise on February 16 to decide the fate of 259 candidates, including 31 women.

Meanwhile, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said that after the announcement of the result of the Meghalaya assembly election, National People’s Party (NPP) chief Conrad Sangma called up Union Home Minister Amit Shah and sought his blessings to form the new government in the state.

Sarma also said that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president J.P. Nadda has advised the Meghalaya state unit of the party to support the NPP in forming the next government.

The Assam Chief Minister wrote on Twitter: “@SangmaConrad, Chief Minister of Meghalaya, called @AmitShahji, Home Minister, and sought his support and blessings in forming the new government.”

In another tweet, Sarma wrote: “@JPNadda ji, the national president of the @BJP4India has advised the state unit of BJP, Meghalaya to support the National People’s Party in forming the next government in Meghalaya.”

JD-U’s new Executive Committee announced, K.C. Tyagi not in list

Patna: After a long time, Janata Dal United (JD-U) on Tuesday announced a new national Executive Committee and senior leader Mangni Lal Mandal has been given the post of national...

‘Bunch of illiterate people from top to bottom’: Kejriwal on Delhi Budget row

New Delhi: Addressing the ongoing Delhi assembly session over the budget row, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday said that "there is a bunch of illiterate people from top to...

Significant human rights issues in India, says US State Department report

An annual United States report, released on Monday, indicted India on human rights situation underlining that the country in 2022 saw significant “human rights issues”, mainly against minorities and rights...

Nitish Kumar is ‘mentally unfit’: BJP MLA

Patna: BJP MLA Hari Bhushan Thakur on Tuesday said Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is "mentally unfit" and "misleading" 13 crore people of the state by giving "wrong" statements. He...

Mumbai court rejects Javed Akhtar’s plea over remarks comparing RSS with Taliban

A sessions court in Mumbai rejected a plea filed by lyricist Javed Akhtar challenging a Magistrate order summoning him in a criminal defamation complaint for his alleged remarks comparing the...

VHP to install flags with ‘Om’ at around 5 lakh houses

Prayagraj: The Vishwa Hindu Parishad (Kashi Prant) has decided to install saffron flags with 'Om' printed on them, at around five lakh houses in Kashi Prant comprising 17 districts of...

Sambit Patra calls Rahul Gandhi present-day Mir Jafar of Indian politics

New Delhi: BJP national spokesperson Sambit Patra on Tuesday called Congress leader Rahul Gandhi present-day Mir Jafar of Indian politics and sought an apology over the latter's speech in the...

Kejriwal writes to PM Modi over ‘stopping’ Delhi Budget

New Delhi: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday wrote to Prime Minister Narendra Modi over "stopping" of the national capital's Budget. "For the first time in the history of...

Azaan at DC office: K’taka BJP MLA Eshwarappa says its an ‘act of sedition’

Shivamogga (Karnataka): BJP MLA and former Karnataka Minister K.S. Eshwarappa on Monday trigerred a fresh controversy calling it an 'act of sedition', after a video of a Muslim youth performing...

LS adjourned for the day amid protests by treasury benches over Rahul’s remarks

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha was on Monday adjourned for the day till Tuesday after noisy protests by treasury benches over Rahul Gandhi's remarks on democracy. As soon as the...

This is to divert attention from Adani issue: Kharge on police reaching Rahul’s house

New Delhi: After Delhi Police reached residence of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday, party's National President Mallikarjun Kharge said that Congress will not stop questioning on Adani row. Kharge...

Rahul Gandhi submits reply to Delhi Police over Bharat Jodo Yatra speech

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi Sunday sent a four-page preliminary reply to the Delhi Police’s notice about his ‘sexual harassment’ remark made during the Bharat Jodo Yatra while questioning the process...

Read Previous

West was arming Ukraine since many years, says Russia’s Lavrov

Read Next

Delhi HC pulls up police for no action against user who abused Alt News co-founder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :