Vijay Hazare Trophy: Jackson overshadows Gaikwad as Saurashtra beat Maharashtra to lift title

Ahmedabad: Veteran Sheldon Jackson’s fantastic unbeaten 133 not out overshadowed Ruturaj Gaikwad’s 108 as Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by five wickets in the final, here on Friday, to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the first time since their title triumph in 2008.

Continuing his superb form, Ruturaj hit his third century on the trot and overall four from five games in the 2022 edition of the tournament, but he didn’t get ample support from other batters Maharashtra posted a total of 248/9 in their 50 overs.

Chasing a par total, Jackson and Harvik Desai (50) stitched an opening partnership of 125 runs to put Maharashtra on the backfoot. Both openers looked in brilliant touch and scored boundaries at regular intervals to bring their century stand in 21 overs. Jackson reached his fifty in 66-ball while Desai got it in 61 deliveries as Saurashtra were in control of the chase.

It was Mukesh Choudhary, who tried to get Maharashtra back in the game with two wickets in the 27th over, removing Desai and Jay Gohil. Samarth Vyas was dismissed by Vicky Ostwal a few overs later, leaving Saurashtra at 147/3 in the 33rd over.

However, Jackson continued his sensible batting and got to his hundred in the 37th over. At the other end, Prerak Mankad did not have a productive outing as he got out for just 1 run.

Eventually, Saurashtra needed 57 to get off the last 10 overs and Jackson and Chirag Jani approached the end overs with calmness, playing risk-free cricket. They collected the singles while Jani struck a couple of boundaries, keeping the required rate under control. In the end, Jackson hit a six and a four off Manoj Ingale in the 47th over to win the title for Saurashtra.

Earlier, put into bat, Maharashtra lost Pavan Shah early to a run-out and could manage only 18 runs in the first 10 overs. Gaikwad, who was on 4 off 32 deliveries at that stage, managed his first boundary only in the 17th over when he swept a Dharmendrasinh Jadeja delivery over backward square leg.

He hit a short ball from Kushang Patel for a six to provide some much-needed impetus to his innings. The second wicket partnership of 66 runs, came to an end in the 25th over when Bachhav miscued a lofted shot to long-on to give Parth Bhut a wicket.

Ankit Bawne joined Gaikwad and the pair smashed a few boundaries to help Maharashtra past 100 in the 30th over. However, Bawne couldn’t continue long after that.

Meanwhile, Gaikwad went past 50 soon after and had Azim Kazi for the company as they started playing with a lot more freedom compared to the first half of the innings. The CSK cricketer completed his century off 125 deliveries with two successive sixes off Chirag Jani in the 40th over.

Kazi also cleared the fence twice in the 41st over which was bowled by Bhut. Gaikwad and Kazi added 94 runs for the fourth wicket before the former was run out in the 42nd over. Kazi fell to Mankad a short while later, leaving Maharashtra at 205/5 after 44 overs.

Unadkat, despite going for a boundary in his final over, finished with economical figures of 1-25. Jani picked up a hat-trick in the 49th over, removing Saurabh Navale, Hangargekar and Ostwal with full deliveries. Naushad Shaikh then struck three successive fours off Kushang Patel in the final over to help Maharashtra finish with a respectable total, which was not enough in the end.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 248/9 in 50 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 108, Azim Kazi 37; Chirag Jani 3-43) lost to Saurashtra 249/5 in 46.3 overs (Sheldon Jackson 133 not out, Harvik Desai 50; Vicky Ostwal 2-20) by 5 wickets.

It’s good for cricket if Asia Cup is shifted to Dubai: Abdul Razzaq

New Delhi: Amid the ongoing row over the 2023 edition of the Asia Cup, former Pakistan all-rounder Abdul Razzaq gave an unexpected take as he feels it's the correct move to...

Ghana winger Christian Atsu rescued from rubble with injuries

New Delhi: Ghanaian winger Christian Atsu, who was reported missing in Turkey's Hatay province following the devastating earthquake, has been removed alive from the rubble of a building with injuries, his...

Shubman Gill, Siraj in shortlist for Men’s Player of the Month for January 2023

Dubai, Feb 7 (IANS) India's Shubman Gill and Mohammad Siraj, who had tremendous series against Sri Lanka and New Zealand, along with Black Caps' opener Devon Conway have been shortlisted for...

If Ashwin is on fire in both departments, might well decide outcome of the series: Ravi Shastri

New Delhi: With the 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy around the corner, spin bowling will undoubtedly play a huge role throughout the four-match series starting from February 9 in Nagpur. Former India head...

Aishwarya Pissay wins National Rally title for 6th consecutive year

Nashik, Feb 6 (IANS) Aishwarya Pissay, the 27-year-old queen of Indian motorsports and Petronas TVS Racing team factory rider, clinched her sixth consecutive National rally title in the Ladies' class as...

Want the ball to turn from Day one: Ravi Shastri ahead of Border-Gavaskar Trophy

New Delhi, Feb 6 (IANS) Former India head coach Ravi Shastri said he wants to see the ball turning from the first day of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, adding that the...

Gymnast Dipa Karmakar announces settlement of doping case over unknowingly taking banned substance

Mumbai: Gymnast Dipa Karmakar has announced the resolution of her dispute with the international federation over a provisional suspension for a positive test for ingestion of a banned substance in...

Aussies raring to avenge 2021 defeat at India’s hands

New Delhi: When the Border-Gavaskar Trophy was last held in 2021, it turned out to be an epic ride. India, minus many regular players and the touring party resembling an injury...

National Rally Championship: Aishwarya Pissay to go for her 6th straight title

Nashik, Feb 4 (IANS) Aishwarya Pissay, the only FIM World Cupper from India, is all set for the final round of the FMSCI National Rally Championship (INRC-2w) 2022 and will be...

Paris 2024 Olympic Torch Relay to begin in Marseille

Paris: The Paris 2024 Olympic Torch Relay will begin its journey in Marseille, host city of the sailing and football competitions, the organisers announced on Friday. "In spring 2024, Marseille...

Suryakumar Yadav to collaborate with the superfood brand ‘Pintola’

New Delhi: Star Indian cricketer Suryakumar Yadav has been roped in as the brand ambassador by Panache, the creative agency for Superfood brand Pintola, for their new range of Performance...

India begin preparations for the first Border-Gavaskar Trophy Test in Nagpur

New Delhi: The Indian Test side, led by opener Rohit Sharma, on Friday began its preparations for the first Test against Australia starting from February 9 at the Vidarbha Cricket...

Read Previous

FIFA World Cup: Knockout rounds start with Argentina, Netherlands facing different tasks

Read Next

AIIMS hacking: Chinese involvement suspected; four more servers were on target

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :