Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana named captains for four-team Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy

Raipur: Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav, off-spin all-rounder Deepti Sharma, fast-bowling all-rounder Pooja Vastrakar, and off-spin all-rounder Sneh Rana on Thursday were named as captains for the four-team Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy, to be held from November 20-26 at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur.

India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, vice-captain Smriti Mandhana and left-arm spinner Radha Yadav have been rested from the tournament to be played in a round-robin format with 14 players in each of the four squads announced by the All-India Women’s Selection Committee.

While Poonam will captain India A side with Harleen Deol as her deputy, Deepti will be the skipper of the India B team with Shafali Verma as vice-captain. Pooja would be leading the India C side with Sabbhineni Meghana as her deputy, while Sneh will be the skipper of the India D team with Jemimah Rodrigues as vice-captain.

Interestingly, all four teams have a left-arm pacer in their squad for the T20 Challenger Trophy — Railways’ Anjali Sarvani in the A team, India and Karnataka pacer Monica Patel in the B side, Vidarbha’s Komal Zanzad in the C team and Maharashtra’s Shraddha Pokharkar in D side — in a bid to identify pacers who can bring more variety into the bowling attack at the international level.

The competition will serve as a preparatory tournament for the Indian players ahead of the Women’s T20 World Cup to be held in South Africa from February 10-26. India will be playing a five-match T20I series at home against T20 World Cup champions Australia, followed by a trip to South Africa in January to play in a tri-series featuring the hosts and West Indies, before participating in the showpiece event.


India A: Poonam Yadav (captain), Harleen Deol (vice-captain), Muskan Malik, S. Sajna, Amanjot Kaur, Disha Kasat, Shriyanka Patil, Saika Ishaque, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarwani, Sahana Pawar, Nuzhat Parween (wicket-keeper), Shivali Shinde (wicket-keeper) and S. Anusha

India B: Deepti Sharma (captain), Shafali Verma (vice-captain), Dhara Gujjar, Yuvashree, Arundhati Reddy, Nishu Chaudhary, Humeira Kazi, Devika Vaidya, S.S Kalal, Monica Patel, S.L. Meena, Simran Dil Bahadur, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (wicket-keeper) and Laxmi Yadav (wicket-keeper)

India C: Pooja Vastrakar (captain), S. Meghana (vice-captain), Priya Punia, Simran Shaikh, Tarranum Pathan, K.P. Navgire, Anjali Singh, Rashi Kanojia, Saranya Gadwal, Keerthy James, Komal Zanzad, Ajima Sangma, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper) and Mamatha (wicket-keeper)

India D: Sneh Rana (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues (vice-captain), Ashwini Kumari, D. Hemalatha, Kanika Ahuja, Jasia Akhter, Yastika Bhatia, Priyanka Priyadarshini, Shikha Pandey, S.B. Pokharkar, Renuka Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Aparna Mondal (wicket-keeper) and Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper)


India A vs India C – November 20, 11AM IST

India B vs India D – November 20, 4:30PM IST

India A vs India B – November 22, 11AM IST

India C vs India D – November 22, 4:30PM IST

India A vs India D – November 24, 11AM IST

India B vs India C – November 24, 4:30PM IST

Final – November 26, 4:30PM IST


Lack of understanding between coach and selectors leading to chaos

New Delhi: Ajay Ratra, Maninder Singh, Shiv Sunder Das, and Nayan Mongia are a few of the contenders for the position of senior men’s selection committee member on the BCCI....

FIFA World Cup 2022: Portugal joins Brazil, France at the knockouts with Bruno’s heroics

Doha: A brace from Bruno Fernandes helped Portugal to a 2-0 win over Uruguay and a place in the knockout stage of the FIFA World Cup. On Monday, in the last...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ruturaj Gaikwad smashes seven sixes in an over, enters record books

Ahmedabad: Right-handed opener Ruturaj Gaikwad on Monday hit a mind-boggling seven sixes in an over, the first time it's happened in List A cricket, while on the way to smashing 220...

World’s biggest wheelchair championship begins in Udaipur

Udaipur: The third National Wheelchair Cricket Championship began here on Sunday under the joint aegis of Narayan Seva Sansthan, Differently Abled Cricket Council of India, and Wheelchair Cricket India Association and...

FIFA World Cup 2022: Fullkrug’s strike helps Germany to 1-1 draw with Spain, qualifying hopes alive

Al Khor (Qatar)" Substitute Niclas Fullkrug's goal seven minutes from end helped Germany to a 1-1 draw against Spain in a FIFA World Cup Group E match at Al Bayt Stadium...

IPL 2022 final sets Guinness World Record for biggest crowd attendance in a T20 match

New Delhi,: BCCI secretary Jay Shah on Sunday tweeted that the IPL 2022 final, which was held earlier this year, has set a Guinness World Record for the largest attendance in...

Youth World Boxing: Ravina strikes gold as India end campaign with 11 medals

New Delhi: Reigning Asian Youth Champion Ravina showcased splendid tenacity to emerge victorious in her finals bout and added another gold to India's total medal tally of 11 at the IBA...

Messi, Fernandez goals guide Argentina to a 2-0 win over Mexico

Doha: Two-time winners Argentina kept their FIFA World Cup knockout stage qualification on course with a 2-0 win over Latin American rivals Mexico at Lusail Stadium in Qatar. On Saturday, in...

India heading towards a completely revamped national anti-doping programme: Sports secretary

New Delhi: With India participating and organizing several sports events every year, the country has become part of a select group having their anti-doping law, Sujata Chaturvedi, Secretary of Sports,...

Vishwanath, Vanshaj, Devika clinch gold at Youth World Boxing

New Delhi: Living up to their favorites tag, young Indian boxers Vishwanath Suresh, Vanshaj and Devika Ghorpade recorded commanding 5-0 wins to clinch gold at the IBA Youth Men's and...

Iran defeats Wales by 2-0 in FIFA World Cup 2022

Qatar: Iran goals at the 98th minute of the game. First Cheshmi blown out Wales with a hammering goal and then Ramin hit the goal in the 100th minute of...

Latham feasts on Indian bowlers with 145 not out to seal New Zealand’s seven-wicket win in first ODI

Auckland: Tom Latham reiterated on Friday why he's an ever-dependable middle-order batter for New Zealand by striking his seventh ODI hundred to seal a seven-wicket victory over India in the first...

Read Previous

SKM urges farmers to continue struggle till all demands are met

Read Next

Youth World Boxing: Lashu advances into quarterfinals; four Indians progress on second day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com