Arshdeep Singh nominated for ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year award for 2022

New Delhi, Dec 28 (IANS) India’s young left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh was on Wednesday nominated for the ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2022 award. Apart from him, South Africas left-arm pace all-rounder Marco Jansen, Afghanistan opener Ibrahim Zadran and New Zealand opener Finn Allen have been nominated as well.

Arshdeep has been the find for India in T20Is this year, stepping up admirably in Jasprit Bumrah’s absence to pick ten wickets in the Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia. Since his T20I debut against England in July this year, he has picked 33 wickets in 21 matches at an average of 18.12, strike rate of 13.30 and economy rate of 8.17.

The left-arm pacer impressed everyone with his control, calm composure in death overs and ability to deliver pin-point yorkers at will.

Arshdeep was also handed an ODI debut on India’s recent tour of New Zealand, and with him now in T20I and ODI squads against Sri Lanka, the future is bright for the 23-year-old seemingly destined to take India’s game forward. His memorable performance of 2022 came in the India-Pakistan match of T20 World Cup and in front of over 90,000 people, Arshdeep stood tall on the big stage.

He removed Pakistan’s prolific opening pair in the first six overs. He claimed Babar Azam with his first ball by trapping him lbw, before taking the wicket of Mohammad Rizwan at the end of his next over. Arshdeep returned at the death to curtail Asif Ali’s plans of a late onslaught, finishing with 3/32 from his four overs.

Jansen, on the other hand, picked 14 Test wickets in the calendar year for South Africa at just 13.50. He emulated the success on tour in England and Australia, averaging just 13.11 and 13.33 respectively. His nine Test wickets in New Zealand came at a respectable 28.55 to boot, as he contributed with the bat for Dean Elgar’s side.

Jansen made four appearances for South Africa across the two white-ball formats, showing early glimpses of his quality. He claimed Shreyas Iyer in his only T20I game, and a pair of wickets in an ODI match against Bangladesh. His most memorable performance of 2022 came against England in a Test at The Oval, making 30 with the bat and picking 5/35 to bowl out the hosts’ for just 158.

Zadran played a huge role in being a stable opener for Afghanistan in ODIs and T20Is. In seven ODIs, he made 431 runs at an average of 71.83, and strike rate of 88.31, while making 367 T20I runs at an average of 36.70, and strike rate of 109.55.

His effort of 162 against a strong Sri Lankan bowling attack in Pallekele, broke Mohammad Shahzad’s 131 not out being the highest individual score for an Afghanistan batter in ODIs. Ibrahim fell on the last ball of the innings after smashing 15 fours and four sixes prior in a dominant knock, also his second century in the series against Sri Lanka.

Allen making a century against Scotland from just 56 balls against Scotland jump-started his game in the build-up to the T20 World Cup. But he came in the spotlight at the global event with his attacking 42 from just 24 balls against Australia, putting the defending champions’ campaign in disarray almost before it started.

In ODIs, Allen made a half-century on his team’s Super League tour of Ireland, before half-centuries against the West Indies and India. He averages 38.70 in the early stages of his ODI career, at a strike rate of 94.39.

The ICC Awards 2022 will comprise a total of 13 categories, with awards honouring individuals who shone in specific formats, and also across multiple formats in the overall categories — the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, and the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year. – IANS

‘Well done champ’: Yuvraj Singh gives big cheer to Sania Mirza for Australian Open final berth

New Delhi: Former Indian cricketer Yuvraj Singh extended his congratulatory wishes to tennis star Sania Mirza for reaching the Australian Open mixed doubles final in her last major. Sania and...

Babar Azam bags Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2022

New Delhi, Jan 26 (IANS) After being named the ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2022, Pakistan captain Babar Azam has now bagged the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the...

Australian Open: Sania Mirza-Rohan Bopanna pair sails into mixed doubles final

Melbourne, Jan 25 (IANS) Indian ace Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna on Tuesday soared into the final of the Australian Open 2023 mixed doubles event on Wednesday, beating third seed American-British...

I think Suryakumar Yadav should play in all three formats: Suresh Raina

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IANS) Former India cricketer Suresh Raina believes right-handed batter Suryakumar Yadav should be playing for India in all three formats of the international game while adding that...

India pacer Renuka Singh Thakur named ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2022

Dubai, Jan 25 (IANS) India pacer Renuka Singh Thakur was on Wednesday named as the ICC Emerging Women's Cricketer of the Year 2022 after she impressed everybody with her magnificent displays...

It’s sad that we were not consulted before the formation of oversight committee: Bajrang Punia

New Delhi, Jan 24 (IANS) Olympic medallist grappler Bajrang Punia on Tuesday expressed his disappointment that wrestlers were not consulted before the formation of the Oversight Committee by the government. Taking...

Rishabh Pant only Indian in ICC’s Test team of the Year 2022

Dubai, Jan 24 (IANS) After revealing the ODI and T20I teams of 2022, ICC on Tuesday also put out its list of the best Test team of the previous year with...

Gill equals Babar’s record, scores joint-most runs for player in 3-match ODI series

Indore, Jan 24 (IANS) Continuing his red-hot form, India opener Shubman Gill on Tuesday brought up his 4th ODI century in the third and final match of the series against New...

Challenges before Team India during the World Cup year

New Delhi: Mahendra Singh Dhoni began preparing much earlier after learning that India would compete in the 2011 World Cup under his leadership. India performed like a unit then to...

Mary Kom to head Oversight Committee for wrestling federation; Yogeshwar, Murgunde named members

New Delhi, Jan 23 (IANS) World champion woman boxer and Olympic bronze medallist MC Mary Kom will head the government-appointed five-member Oversight Committee for the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) which...

Athiya Shetty, KL Rahul are officially man and wife

Mumbai, Jan 23 (IANS) It's official! Athiya Shetty and cricketer KL Rahul have been pronounced the man and the wife. The wedding ceremony, which took place on Monday at Suniel Shetty's...

Mohammed Shami ordered to pay monthly alimony to estranged wife

Kolkata: A Kolkata court on Monday ordered Indian pacer Mohammed Shami to pay a monthly alimony of Rs 1.30 lakh to his estranged wife Hasin Jahan. Out of the Rs 1.30...

Read Previous

Motivated Nadal aims for strong start at United Cup in Australia

Read Next

‘That definitely is up there’: Warner terms MCG double hundred as his finest knock in Tests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :