TMC joins Oppn protest over Rahul’s disqualification; Uddhav Thackeray signals ‘cracks’ over Savarkar issue

  • ‘Veer Savarkar is our God, and any disrespect towards him will not be tolerated’
  • ‘My name is not Savarkar, my name is Gandhi and Gandhi does not offer an apology to anyone’
  • Parliament witnessed protests over the disqualification of Rahul Gandhi from the membership of the Lok Sabha,

As expected, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi’s breathless tirade against Savarkar triggered crack in opposition unity in Maharashtra even as Uddhav Thackeray, who is heading the legacy of his father Bal Tackeray, said his party would not tolerate any insult to Veer Savarkar.

On Monday, the Parliament witnessed protests over the disqualification of Rahul Gandhi from the membership of the Lok Sabha, with both Houses remaining disrupted throughout the day as for once the issue united the Opposition.

Notably, the Trinamool Congress, which has not been attending meetings convened by Leader of the Opposition (LoP) Mallikarjun Kharge, joined the Opposition huddle and participated in a march taken out by Opposition MPs. However, the Uddhav Thackeray faction of Shiv Sena has decided not to attend a Congress meeting on Monday. The party leaders did not attend the joint Opposition protest at the Gandhi statue and the march to Parliament. Reacting to his disqualification, Rahul Gandhi has said: “I am not Savarkar, I am Gandhi”.

On Sunday, Uddhav Thackeray told the Congress his party would noot tolerate insults of Savarkar. He further said that he considers Hindutva ideologue V D Savarkar and asked the Congress leader to withhold from insulting him. Thackeray said: “Savarkar suffered unimaginable torture in the Andaman cellular jail for 14 years. We can only read the sufferings. It is a form of sacrifice. We will not tolerate the insult of Savarkar.”

“Veer Savarkar is our God, and any disrespect towards him will not be tolerated. We are prepared to fight, but insulting our Gods is not something we will tolerate,” the Shiv Sena (UBT) chief said.

“The alliance of the Uddhav faction, Congress, and NCP was made to protect democracy and we need to work unitedly. Rahul Gandhi is being provoked deliberately but if we waste time in this, democracy will cease to exist,” Uddhav said.

“I want to tell Rahul Gandhi that we have come together to save our country’s democracy and its Constitution. But you are deliberately being provoked. If we allow this time to get wasted, then democracy will cease to exist. 2024 will be the last election,” he added.

On Monday, Sanjay Raut said “Savarkar is our inspiration” and that he will try to speak to Rahul Gandhi on the issue.

Leaders of as many as 17 parties attended the meeting convened by Kharge. Although the Shiv Sena attended the meeting, it did not join the protest. Among parties that attended were Trinamool Congress, DMK, AAP, SP, JD(U), BRS, CPI(M), RJD, NCP, CPI, IUML, MDMK, Kerala Congress, RSP and the National Conference.


Resolve Maratha demands by Friday: Jarange-Patil warns Maha govt

Jalna (Maharashtra): On the sixth day of his hunger strike, Shivba Sanghatana leader Manoj Jarange-Patil on Thursday served an ultimatum to the Maharashtra government to decide on the pending Maratha...

Pema Khandu takes oath as Arunachal CM for 3rd straight term

Itanagar: Pema Khandu, who was re-elected as the BJP Legislature Party leader on Wednesday, took oath as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister for the third straight term on Thursday. Governor Lt-Gen...

Rahul Gandhi in dilemma on whether to retain Wayanad or Raebareli

Kozhikode: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday said that he was in a dilemma as to which constituency he should relinquish -- Wayanad or Raebareli. He was in his constituency,...

Trinamool’s Abhishek Banerjee announces ‘short hiatus’ from political activities

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress’ General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee, on Wednesday afternoon, announced his decision to take a “short hiatus” from political and organisational activities. He has cited medical grounds as the...

Chandrababu Naidu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, turns emotional

Vijayawada: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president Nara Chandrababu Naidu turned emotional after taking oath as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh here on Wednesday. Naidu hugged Prime Minister Narendra Modi soon...

First session of 18th Lok Sabha begins on June 24

New Delhi: A special 10-day session of the Lok Sabha will commence on June 24 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members, Election of Speaker, President’s Address and discussion. This was...

AAP slams NDA govt over induction of Manjhi in Cabinet, cites his insulting remarks on Lord Ram

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday trained its guns at the NDA government over the induction of Jitan Ram Manjhi in the Union Cabinet despite the latter’s...

Amaravati is capital of Andhra Pradesh, declares Chandrababu Naidu

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister-designate N. Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday declared that Amaravati is the state capital. Addressing a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA),...

These UP MPs may lose membership if they get convicted

Lucknow: At least six newly elected MPs of the INDIA bloc and one more, are facing criminal charges which could attract a jail term of more than two years. If...

Chandrababu Naidu unanimously elected leader of NDA MLAs in Andhra Pradesh

Amaravati: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N. Chandrababu Naidu was Tuesday unanimously elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Andhra Pradesh. At a meeting of the...

After Reasi terror attack, Cong questions Centre’s J&K peace claims

New Delhi: The Congress on Monday questioned the Centre over its claims of peace in Jammu & Kashmir. Condemning the terror attack in Jammu in which ten pilgrims were killed...

TDP’s Ram Mohan Naidu, Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar to be sworn in as ministers

Amaravati: Telugu Desam Party's Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu and Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar will be among the Central ministers to be sworn in on Sunday. Ram Mohan Naidu is a third-time...

Read Previous

Priyanka now serves on Executive Committee of Academy of Motion Pictures Arts And Sciences’ actors branch

Read Next

Mary Kom, Sunil Chhetri bat for a sports-friendly India, urge nation to adopt sports as a lifestyle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :