These UP MPs may lose membership if they get convicted

Lucknow: At least six newly elected MPs of the INDIA bloc and one more, are facing criminal charges which could attract a jail term of more than two years.

If this happens, these MPs stand the risk of losing their membership.

Afzal Ansari, who has won the Ghazipur seat, has already been convicted to a four-year sentence in a Gangster Act case. His conviction was stayed by the Allahabad High Court last month and this allowed him to contest the polls. Hearing in the matter is scheduled for July when the court reopens after summer vacations.

If the court finally upholds the conviction, Ansari will lose his Lok Sabha membership.

Dharmendra Yadav, who won the Azamgarh seat, also has four cases pending against his name and if he gets convicted for more than two years, he may also lose his membership.

Babu Singh Kushwaha, who won the Jaunpur seat ending his 10-year-exile in politics, is facing several cases related to the NRHM scam that took place in the Mayawati regime where he was a minister. Charges have been framed in eight of the 25 cases filed against him.

Rambhual Nishad, who won the Sultanpur seat by defeating BJP’s Maneka Gandhi, has eight cases registered against him, including one under the Gangsters Act. He is also among the ‘vulnerable’ winners of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Virendra Singh who defeated former minister Mahendra Nath Pandey from Chandauli Lok Sabha seat, is another SP candidate facing criminal cases. His conviction could also bring bad news for him.

Eight cases are registered against Imran Masood of Congress who won the Saharanpur seat. The cases include one related to money laundering by the ED. Charges have been framed against him in two cases.

The seventh candidate Chandra Shekhar Azad of Azad Samaj Party, who won the Nagina reserved seat, has over 30 cases registered against him. If he gets a conviction of more than two years in any one of the cases, his political career would be adversely impacted.

It is significant to note that several political leaders have lost their membership after getting convicted in criminal cases.

Prominent among them are Mohd Azam Khan, his son Abdullah Azam of SP, Khaboo Tiwari, Vikram Saini, Ram Dular Gond, Kuldeep Sengar and Ashok Chandel — all of BJP.



INDIA bloc wants to include Chandrashekhar Azad for 2027 UP polls

Lucknow: Buoyed up by its recent victory in the Lok Sabha elections, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress in Uttar Pradesh are now looking to expand their vote base...

Amit Shah advises security forces to crush terrorism in J&K at all cost

New Delhi: Union Home Minister Amit Shah, on Sunday, directed security forces to crush growing terrorism in Jammu division, wipe it out from Jammu & Kashmir and ensure complete security...

TMC announces candidates for bypolls to four assembly seats in Bengal

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress on Friday announced the names of party candidates for by-elections to four assembly constituencies scheduled on July 10. The party has fielded Krishna Kalyani, who won from...

Resolve Maratha demands by Friday: Jarange-Patil warns Maha govt

Jalna (Maharashtra): On the sixth day of his hunger strike, Shivba Sanghatana leader Manoj Jarange-Patil on Thursday served an ultimatum to the Maharashtra government to decide on the pending Maratha...

Pema Khandu takes oath as Arunachal CM for 3rd straight term

Itanagar: Pema Khandu, who was re-elected as the BJP Legislature Party leader on Wednesday, took oath as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister for the third straight term on Thursday. Governor Lt-Gen...

Rahul Gandhi in dilemma on whether to retain Wayanad or Raebareli

Kozhikode: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday said that he was in a dilemma as to which constituency he should relinquish -- Wayanad or Raebareli. He was in his constituency,...

Trinamool’s Abhishek Banerjee announces ‘short hiatus’ from political activities

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress’ General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee, on Wednesday afternoon, announced his decision to take a “short hiatus” from political and organisational activities. He has cited medical grounds as the...

Chandrababu Naidu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, turns emotional

Vijayawada: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president Nara Chandrababu Naidu turned emotional after taking oath as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh here on Wednesday. Naidu hugged Prime Minister Narendra Modi soon...

First session of 18th Lok Sabha begins on June 24

New Delhi: A special 10-day session of the Lok Sabha will commence on June 24 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members, Election of Speaker, President’s Address and discussion. This was...

AAP slams NDA govt over induction of Manjhi in Cabinet, cites his insulting remarks on Lord Ram

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday trained its guns at the NDA government over the induction of Jitan Ram Manjhi in the Union Cabinet despite the latter’s...

Amaravati is capital of Andhra Pradesh, declares Chandrababu Naidu

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister-designate N. Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday declared that Amaravati is the state capital. Addressing a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA),...

Chandrababu Naidu unanimously elected leader of NDA MLAs in Andhra Pradesh

Amaravati: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N. Chandrababu Naidu was Tuesday unanimously elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Andhra Pradesh. At a meeting of the...

Read Previous

Action-thriller series ‘Mirzapur’ to return with 10 episodes for Season 3 on July 5

Read Next

Vikrant Massey talks about challenges of driving for one whole night in ‘Blackout’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :