No BJP-Bodo People’s Front alliance for 2024 polls: Himanta

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said the state’s ruling BJP will not forge an alliance with the Bodo People’s Front (BPF) for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

On Thursday, a day after holding a meeting with BJP allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), the Chief Minister told reporters: “Although (BPF chief) Hagrama Mohilary supported us in the Rajya Sabha polls, the BPF is not included in our alliance.”

In the 2021 state Assembly polls, the BJP had teamed up with the UPPL in Bodoland to fight the polls.

At the time, the BPF was in an alliance with the Congress and had struggled to get a good number of seats in Bodoland.

This resulted in Mohilary abandoning the alliance with Congress.

In recent days, he held meetings with some key RSS members and speculations were rife that he may join the BJP.

Assam BJP president Bhabesh Kalita had also hinted that the BPF may find a place in the BJP-led NDA.

In the past, Mohilary and Sarma had shared a good equation, with the latter beingthe key person when the BPF first forged an alliance with the Congress in the run-up to the 2006 Assembly polls.

The equation however changed later and the two were seen involved in verbal duels.

Sarma even claimed that Mohilary was involved in large-scale corruption in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) and he may face a jail term as a result.

The Chief Minister also brought Mohilary’s arch rival Pramod Bodo’s UPPL into the BJP’s fold.


Tripura tribal party to blockade state’s lifeline on Feb 28 over ‘Greater Tipraland’ demand

Agartala: Tripura's main opposition party, the Tipra Motha Party (TMP), will block the National Highway 8, the state's lifeline, on February 28 in protest against the Central government's "procrastination" in...

Will BJP be able to replicate the Nandigram model in Sandeshkhali?

Kolkata: As Sandeshkhali, a conglomerate of islands in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, continues to boil over agitation of local women against the sexual harassment of local Trinamool...

Four MLAs from Congress, NPP join ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar: Just ahead of assembly polls, four sitting MLAs – two from the opposition Congress and two from National People's Party (NPP) – on Sunday joined the ruling BJP in...

Akhilesh joins Rahul’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Agra

Agra (UP): In a display of unity among INDIA members, Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav, on Sunday, joined the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra led by Rahul Gandhi in Agra. The...

RLD MLAs to vote for BJP in RS polls, attend CM Yogi’s meeting on Monday

Lucknow: Even before a formal announcement of the BJP-Rashtriya Lok Dal pact is made, the RLD has said that all its nine MLAs in Uttar Pradesh will not only vote...

‘Not farmers but Khalistanis’: K’taka BJP MP on farmers’ protest

Bengaluru: BJP MP from Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency, Anantkumar Hegde, said on Saturday that those who are taking part in protests in New Delhi are not farmers but are...

Ahmed Patel’s son Faisal miffed with Congress over Bharuch LS seat going in AAP’s kitty

Surat: The Congress party in Surat is facing intense internal conflict after Congress-AAP alliance allotted Bharuch Lok Sabha seat to AAP. Bharuch Lok Sabha constituency is closely associated with Faisal...

New political alignment on cards in TN as PMK MLAs meet EPS

Chennai: The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), the political arm of Vanniyar community which has been a NDA ally in 2019 Lok Sabha polls and 2021 Assembly elections, have started to...

Trinamool ignores Congress’ call to keep doors open for seat-sharing talks

Kolkata: Congress’ desperate attempts to convince the Trinamool Congress to keep the doors for seat-sharing negotiations open do not seem to be cutting any ice with the ruling party of...

AAP withdraws from LS polls in Goa, supports Congress

Panaji: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Saturday declared support to Congress for both of the Lok Sabha seats in Goa, after a seat-sharing agreement reached between them.The AAP, which had...

Lok Sabha polls 2024: AAP and Cong announce seat sharing tie-up for Haryana, Delhi, Gujarat

New Delhi: Confirming their alliance, the INDIA bloc constituents AAP and Congress on Saturday announced their seat sharing tie-up for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections for Delhi, Gujarat, and Haryana....

PM Modi’s electoral journey began on this day in 2002

New Delhi :Exactly 22 years ago on this day, the electoral journey of Prime Minister Narendra Modi began. It was on February 24, 2002 when PM Modi stepped into the...

Read Previous

Nitish Kumar threatens to start movement against Centre if demand for special status to Bihar is not met

Read Next

FIR against Insta page for spreading communal hatred over murder of four of Muslim family in K’taka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :