LS adjourned for the day, 33 MPs suspended for remainder of Winter Session

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha was on Monday adjourned till Tuesday 11 a.m. amid uproar by the opposition MPs after suspending a total of over 33 MPs including Leader of Congress in the House Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury for the remainder of the Winter Session.

The Lok Sabha suspended three more members — K Jayakumar, Vijay Vasanth and Abdul Khaleque — pending the report of Privileges Committee.

The move comes in the wake of an ongoing standoff between the Centre and the opposition over the recent breach of security within the Parliament premises.

Chowdhury said that all leaders, including me, have been suspended.

“We have been demanding for days to reinstate our MPs who were suspended earlier and that the Home Minister come to the House and give a statement on the security lapses of Parliament.”

He said that Shah gives statements to the TV every day and he can speak a little in the Parliament too regarding what is being done by the government for the security of the Parliament.

“To run the House, the government will have to take the opposition into confidence, but today the Modi government is acting as a dictator. He wants to run the House on his own terms,” he said.

“Today’s government has reached the heights of tyranny… we wanted discussion,” Chowdhury added.

He also said that the Parliament cannot become the office of the RSS and the BJP.

The MPs were suspended after Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi moved the motion to suspend more Opposition leaders from Lok Sabha.

Rajdenra Agarwal, who was in the chair, announced the suspension through voice vote.

The MPs suspended for the remainder of the Session include Kalyan Banerjee, A. Raja, Dayanidhi Maran, Aparupa Poddar, Prasun Banerjee, E. T. Mohammed Basheer, Ganesan Selvam, C. N. Annadurai, Adhir Ranjan Choudhary, T. Sumathy, Kani K. Navas, Kalanidhi Veeraswamy, N. K. Premachandran, Sougata Roy, Satabdi Roy, Asit Kumar Mal, Kaushalendra Kumar, Anto Antony, S. S. Palanimanickam, Pratima Mondal, Kakoli Ghosh, K Muraleedharan, Sunil Mondal, Ramalingam Sellaperumal, Kodikunnel Suresh, Amar Singh, Rajmohan Unnithan, S. Thirunavukkarasar, T. R. Baalu, Gaurav Gogoi, Vijaykumar Vasanth, Dr. K. Jayakumar, Abdul Khaleque for utter disregard to the House and displaying the placards in the House.

Meanwhile, Jayakumar, Abdul Kalikh, and Vasanth were suspended till the report of the privileges committee for creating disorder in the House.

On December 14, a total of 13 Lok Sabha MPs were suspended, while one Rajya Sabha MP Derek O’Brien was suspended for the remainder of the session.

The opposition MPs have been demanding a detailed statement by Home Minister Amit Shah in both the Houses over the December 13 Parliament security breach.

Earlier in the day, the Lok Sabha was adjourned multiple times amid the uproar by the opposition MPs.

Meanwhile, Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw tabled the Telecommunications Bill 2023 in the House earlier in the day.


PM Modi slams Rahul for his ‘drunkard youth remark’

Varanasi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday launched a scathing attack on Congress leader Rahul Gandhi for saying that the youth in Varanasi have turned drunkards. Addressing a public meeting...

Former LS Speaker, ex-Maha CM Manohar Joshi ‘Sir’ passes away

Mumbai: Former Lok Sabha Speaker and ex-Maharashtra Chief Minister Manohar G. Joshi, a senior Shiv Sena (UBT) leader, passed away following a heart attack early on Friday morning. “Our family...

You will see even more progress in next five years: PM Modi in Varanasi

Varanasi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Friday, said that Kashi was an ancient city -- older than time -- and its identity was being nurtured and nourished by the young...

Jolt to YSRCP as Rajya Sabha MP Prabhakar Reddy quits

Amaravati: In a jolt to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) ahead of elections, MP Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy on Wednesday resigned from the party and also from Rajya Sabha. In a letter...

Days of exploitation & dynastic rule over in J&K: PM Modi

Jammu: Prime Minister Narendra Modi said on Tuesday that J&K has got freedom from a long dynastic rule that focused on their own progress and development and not that of...

Swami Prasad Maurya resigns from Samajwadi Party, also quits as MLC

Lucknow: Senior Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Swami Prasad Maurya, on Tuesday, resigned from the primary membership of the party and also from the membership of the UP Vidhan Parishad. In...

Previous govts involved in some of the biggest scams: Union Minister

Mumbai: Previous governments inadequately regulated critical sectors such as telecom, amid massive scams, but our approach in creating a framework of regulation has been open and transparent, Union Minister of...

Samajwadi Party facing revolt in the ranks

Lucknow: Swami Prasad Maurya, Pallavi Patel, Kamal Kumar Gautam, Brajesh Prajapati and now Salim Shervani -- the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh is facing a full-blown revolt in its ranks....

Will join Rahul’s yatra only if seat-sharing finalised, says Akhilesh

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav has said that he will not join Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Uttar Pradesh unless seat-sharing between the SP and Congress is...

Raj Thackeray meets BJP city chief, sparks speculation of tie-up

Mumbai: Sparking fresh speculation of a tie-up, the Mumbai Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Ashish Shelar called on Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray at the latter’s residence here...

Kiren Rijiju counters Rahul’s OBC barb on secretaries in govt

New Delhi: Union Minister Kiren Rijiju on Monday strongly countered Congress leader Rahul Gandhi’s allegations of ‘discrimination’ against the Other Backward Class (OBC) community in the country’s top bureaucratic set-up....

Swami Prasad Maurya lashes out at Akhilesh, may form his own party

Lucknow: Senior Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Swami Prasad Maurya has lashed out at SP president Akhilesh Yadav, saying he will return whatever the latter had given him. Amid speculation about...

Read Previous

Recession fears hit IT sector, Infosys, major players announce drastic cuts in pay hikes, promotions

Read Next

Allahabad HC reserves order on Eidgah survey in Mathura

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :