Chandrababu Naidu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, turns emotional

Vijayawada: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president Nara Chandrababu Naidu turned emotional after taking oath as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh here on Wednesday.

Naidu hugged Prime Minister Narendra Modi soon after being sworn in by Governor S. Abdul Nazeer in the presence of a galaxy of political leaders and celebrities at a ceremony attended by lakhs of people.

Amid loud cheers from the audience, the 74-year-old took the oath of office and secrecy in Telugu. The Prime Minister presented him with a bouquet to congratulate him.

Naidu was visibly emotional as he hugged PM Modi and returned to his chair next to his wife Bhuvaneswari.

In 2021, Naidu walked out of the Assembly after his wife was allegedly insulted by some MLAs of the YSR Congress Party and vowed to return only after taking oath as the Chief Minister.

After taking oath as a minister, Jana Sena leader Pawan Kalyan went up to his elder brother megastar Chiranjeevi and touched his feet.

Chandrababu Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh was the next to take oath as the minister. Lokesh, the TDP general secretary, took the blessings of his father, Prime Minister Modi and the Governor.

A total of 24 ministers of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) took oath at the ceremony held at Kesarapalli IT Park near Gannavaram Airport.

The ministers include three from Jana Sena and one from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

TDP’s Andhra Pradesh unit president K. Atchannaidu and Jana Sena political affairs committee chairman Nadendla Manohar were among the key ministers.

The other members of Naidu’s ministerial team are Kollu Ravindra, P. Narayana, Vangalapudi Anitha, Satya Kumar Yadav, Nimmala Rama Naidu, N.M.D. Farooq, Anam Ramanarayan Reddy, Payyavula Kesav, Anagani Satya Prasad, Kolusu Parthsaradhi, Dola Balaveeranjaneya Swamy, Gottipati Ravi Kumar, Kandula Durgesh, Gummadi Sandhyarani, B.C. Jardhan Reddy, T.G. Bharath, S. Savitha, Vasamsetti Subhash, Kondapalli Srinivas and Mandipalli Ram Prasad Reddy.

Former Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu, former Chief Justice of India N.V. Ramana, Union Ministers Amit Shah, J.P. Nadda, Nitin Gadkari, Ram Mohan Naidu, Pemmasani Chandra Sekhar, Chirag Paswan, Kishan Reddy, Ramdas Athawale, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, state BJP president D. Purandeswari were present.

Superstars Rajinikanth, Chiranjeevi, popular actor and TDP MLA N. Balakrishna were among those present on the dais.



Congress eyes Greater Hyderabad gains as BRS MLAs defect

Hyderabad: The latest defections by Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) MLAs have come as a shot in the arm for the ruling Congress party in Telangana as it looks to consolidate...

U’khand bypolls: BJP loses Badrinath seat, party’s state chief says ‘will review poor show’

New Delhi: A month after making a clean sweep in Uttarakhand in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a major jolt in the hilly state...

Himachal CM ensures win in Assembly bypolls, secures ‘absolute majority’ for Congress

Shimla: In a high-stake bypolls for three Assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu on Saturday not only ensured a win on two of three seats, including...

Prakash Ambedkar asks PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi to burn copies of Manusmriti

Mumbai: Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) founder Prakash Ambedkar on Saturday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha's Leader of the Opposition Rahul Gandhi to set ablaze copies of the...

Bengal bypoll results: Clean sweep for Trinamool in all four constituencies

Kolkata: Continuing its winning streak, West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress clinched victories with huge margins in all four Assembly constituencies that went for bypolls on July 10. With this, the...

In one-sided contest, AAP wins Punjab’s Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll

Chandigarh: In a face-saving for the AAP government in Punjab led by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, its nominee Mohinder Bhagat on Saturday won the Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll by 37,325...

Don’t be nasty to Smriti Irani, LoP Rahul says on X; BJP calls it ‘most disingenuous’

New Delhi: The Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Lok Sabha, Rahul Gandhi on Friday used his social media account to appeal in favour of BJP leader and former Union...

Mamata meets Pawar, Thackeray: Says ‘Central govt unstable, may not last long’

Mumbai: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee expressed her concerns over the “stability” of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA 3.0 government at the Centre and hinted that it may not...

Will meet Thackaray, Sharad Pawar and Akhilesh in Mumbai: Mamata Banerjee

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday said that she will separately meet Shiv Sena-UBT chief Uddhav Thackeray, NCP-SP chief Sharad Pawar and the Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh...

Tribal Board case: Will FM, PM quit over bank frauds, says K’taka CM on calls to resign

Mysuru, (Karnataka): Reacting to the BJP's demand for his resignation over alleged irregularities in the tribal welfare Board, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, who holds the finance portfolio, questioned whether Union...

INLD, BSP stitch alliance for Haryana Assembly elections

Chandigarh: Haryana’s Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Thursday stitched a pre-poll alliance for the state Assembly elections likely to be held in October....

Variable turnout in key bypolls to 13 Assembly seats in seven states

New Delhi: Bypolls were held in 13 Assembly constituencies across seven states on Wednesday in the first electoral contest since the Lok Sabha polls with the results likely to have...

Read Previous

First session of 18th Lok Sabha begins on June 24

Read Next

Kerala: RJD unhappy with LDF over seat sharing after JD-S supports NDA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :