Vishnu Deo Sai named new Chhattisgarh CM

Raipur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, where the party wrested power from the Congress in the recently concluded Assembly polls by bagging 54 of the total 90 seats.

Sai (59) had earlier served as Union Minister of State for Steel, Mines, Labour and Employment during the first tenure of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Central government.

The decision to name Sai for the chief ministerial post was taken at the BJP legislature party meeting here, sources said on Sunday.

The meeting was held in the presence of three observers appointed by the central BJP leadership.

The BJP central leadership has appointed Union Ministers Arjun Munda, Sarbananda Sonowal, and party general secretary Dushyant Kumar Gautam as observers for Chhattisgarh.

The meeting was attended by 54 newly elected MLAs, including former Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh.

Speculations suggested that the party might give another CM term to the veteran BJP.

However, this time, the BJP has appointed a fresh face for the CM post.

Sai, a tribal leader, was earlier appointed as the chief of the BJP’s Chhattisgarh unit in 2020, two years after the party faced a rout in the Assembly polls.

He was replaced by Arun Sao in August 2022, around a year before the recently concluded Chhattisgarh polls.

Born in February 1964 to a farmer’s family in Bagiya village of Jashpur district, Sai belongs to the tribal community.

Sai began his political career after he was elected as Sarpanch of his village.

He contested the first assembly election as a BJP candidate in 1990 and won.

After getting elected as an MLA, Sai gained further momentum in his political career and emerged as an influential tribal leader in the region.

In 1999 , he contested the first Lok Sabha election and won.

He won three consecutive (2004, 2009 and 2014) Lok Sabha elections.

Sai was appointed as the Union Minister during the first tenure of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government.

He was named the Chhattisgarh unit BJP chief in 2006.

In 2011, he was again made the BJP state president.

In July 2023, he was appointed as a member of the National Working Committee of the BJP.

The BJP contested the recently concluded Chhattisgarh Assembly polls without declaring any CM face.

The saffron party bagged 54 of the total 90 seats, unseating Congress from power. IANS

Tripura tribal party to blockade state’s lifeline on Feb 28 over ‘Greater Tipraland’ demand

Agartala: Tripura's main opposition party, the Tipra Motha Party (TMP), will block the National Highway 8, the state's lifeline, on February 28 in protest against the Central government's "procrastination" in...

Will BJP be able to replicate the Nandigram model in Sandeshkhali?

Kolkata: As Sandeshkhali, a conglomerate of islands in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, continues to boil over agitation of local women against the sexual harassment of local Trinamool...

Four MLAs from Congress, NPP join ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar: Just ahead of assembly polls, four sitting MLAs – two from the opposition Congress and two from National People's Party (NPP) – on Sunday joined the ruling BJP in...

Akhilesh joins Rahul’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Agra

Agra (UP): In a display of unity among INDIA members, Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav, on Sunday, joined the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra led by Rahul Gandhi in Agra. The...

RLD MLAs to vote for BJP in RS polls, attend CM Yogi’s meeting on Monday

Lucknow: Even before a formal announcement of the BJP-Rashtriya Lok Dal pact is made, the RLD has said that all its nine MLAs in Uttar Pradesh will not only vote...

‘Not farmers but Khalistanis’: K’taka BJP MP on farmers’ protest

Bengaluru: BJP MP from Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency, Anantkumar Hegde, said on Saturday that those who are taking part in protests in New Delhi are not farmers but are...

Ahmed Patel’s son Faisal miffed with Congress over Bharuch LS seat going in AAP’s kitty

Surat: The Congress party in Surat is facing intense internal conflict after Congress-AAP alliance allotted Bharuch Lok Sabha seat to AAP. Bharuch Lok Sabha constituency is closely associated with Faisal...

New political alignment on cards in TN as PMK MLAs meet EPS

Chennai: The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), the political arm of Vanniyar community which has been a NDA ally in 2019 Lok Sabha polls and 2021 Assembly elections, have started to...

Trinamool ignores Congress’ call to keep doors open for seat-sharing talks

Kolkata: Congress’ desperate attempts to convince the Trinamool Congress to keep the doors for seat-sharing negotiations open do not seem to be cutting any ice with the ruling party of...

AAP withdraws from LS polls in Goa, supports Congress

Panaji: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Saturday declared support to Congress for both of the Lok Sabha seats in Goa, after a seat-sharing agreement reached between them.The AAP, which had...

Lok Sabha polls 2024: AAP and Cong announce seat sharing tie-up for Haryana, Delhi, Gujarat

New Delhi: Confirming their alliance, the INDIA bloc constituents AAP and Congress on Saturday announced their seat sharing tie-up for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections for Delhi, Gujarat, and Haryana....

PM Modi’s electoral journey began on this day in 2002

New Delhi :Exactly 22 years ago on this day, the electoral journey of Prime Minister Narendra Modi began. It was on February 24, 2002 when PM Modi stepped into the...

Read Previous

National Billiards & Snooker C’ships: Malkeet Singh crowned 6-Red snooker men’s champion

Read Next

Mamata skips Eastern Zonal Council meet in Patna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :