Variable turnout in key bypolls to 13 Assembly seats in seven states

New Delhi: Bypolls were held in 13 Assembly constituencies across seven states on Wednesday in the first electoral contest since the Lok Sabha polls with the results likely to have an impact on the political fate of the state’s ruling and opposition parties.

The bypolls were held in West Bengal (4 seats), Himachal Pradesh (3 seats), Uttarakhand (2 seats), Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, and Punjab (1 seat each) to fill the seats falling vacant due to the demise or resignation of incumbent members.

In Himachal Pradesh, where bypolls were necessitated by the resignation of the sitting Independent members, who later joined the BJP, it was a straight contest between the Congress and the BJP. The stakes are high for Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu with his wife Kamlesh Thakur making her electoral debut from Dehra in Kangra district.

This constituency was carved out after delimitation in 2010 and the Congress has never won this seat.

The Chief Minister campaigned aggressively in Dehra, compared to two other seats, to ensure victory for Kamlesh Thakur, who is in the fray against BJP nominee Hoshiyar Singh.

Election officials said that Himachal witnessed a voter turnout of over 71 per cent till 7 p.m. and polls were largely peaceful.

As per the Election Commission, the Nalagarh constituency recorded the highest polling of 78 per cent, followed by Hamirpur (67.7 per cent) and Dehra (65.42 per cent).

In Bihar, the Rupauli Assembly segment in Purnea district, where RJD candidate Bima Bharti the only woman among the 11 candidates, registered 52.75 per cent polling till 6 p.m.. Bharti, who had resigned from the Rupauli seat to contest the Lok Sabha elections, faces ruling JD-U’s Kaladhar Mandal (JD-U).

Several incidents of violence were also reported during the day leaving four persons, including an SHO, injured in clashes.

The people allege that the district police forcibly stopped them from polling their votes, leading to a scuffle that escalated into stone-pelting. The district police, however, have denied these allegations.

Another incident was reported in Gorier village, where the wife of independent candidate Shankar Singh accused the police of carrying out a baton charge on voters. She sat on a dharna, but the situation soon stabilised while the voting resumed.

In West Bengal, the bypolls were held for Raiganj, Ranaghat-Dakshin, Bagda, and Maniktala seats amid violence and alleged malpractices.

The polling saw 62.71 per cent voter turnout by 5 p.m. – as per the last available figures. The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) office has said that the final polling percentage will be available only on Thursday after the completion of the tabulation of reports coming from different polling booths.

The maximum polling percentage was reported from Raiganj in North Dinajpur district at 67.12 per cent, while the lowest was reported from Maniktala in Kolkata at 51.39 per cent.

Over 51 per cent polling was recorded, till 5 p.m., in Punjab’s Jalandhar West (SC) constituency where Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann had made the contest a prestige issue by campaigning extensively for his AAP candidate Mohinder Bhagat.

In Madhya Pradesh, 78.38 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the Amarwara Assembly seat in Chhindwara district – the erstwhile bastion of senior Congress leader Kamal Nath – where the bypoll was necessitated by sitting Congress MLA Kamlesh Shah resigning and joining the BJP, which fielded him.

A low of 47.68 per cent turnout was recorded in Uttarakhand’s Badrinath seat, while Manglaur recorded a high of 67.28 per cent.

In Tamil Nadu’s Vikravandi Assembly seat, where the contest is between the state’s ruling DMK and NDA constituent PMK, with the AIADMK not contesting, 77.73 per cent turnout was recorded till 5 p.m.

An election official said that the results for all 13 seats will be declared on July 13.



Unexpected Camaraderie: Sonia Gandhi, Jaya Bachchan break barriers with smiles

New Delhi: A video on Wednesday captured a significant moment: Sonia Gandhi and Jaya Bachchan engaged in a jovial conversation in Parliament, sharing laughter and signalling a potential thaw in...

Jayant Chaudhary criticises Yogi govt’s nameplate order for Kanwar Yarta

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) Jayant Chaudhary on Sunday criticised the Yogi government over its nameplate order directing all eateries and dhabas along the Kanwar Yatra route to...

Oppn raises Kanwar Yatra issue, NDA allies seek special status for Bihar at all-party meet

New Delhi: The Centre on Sunday in the all-party meeting urged the parties to ensure the smooth functioning of Parliament even as the opposition raised the Kanwar Yatra row and...

NDA allies ‘sacrificed’ ministerial berths for money: Mamata Banerjee

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday alleged that the BJP allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre “sacrificed” ministerial berths for money. “Have you...

Current Union govt won’t last long: Akhilesh Yadav

Kolkata: The current NDA government at the Centre will not last long and it will get toppled very soon, claimed Samajwadi Party President and Lok Sabha MP Akhilesh Yadav on...

Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav two architects of LS election outcome: Abhishek Banerjee

Kolkata: In a significant statement, Trinamool Congress General Secretary and MP Abhishek Banerjee, on Sunday, said that West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav are...

Union Minister Jitin Prasada’s car meets with accident in Pilibhit

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) for Commerce and Industry, Jitin Prasada, had a close shave on Saturday after his car met with an accident in Uttar Pradesh’s Pilibhit...

Assam to become Muslim-majority state by 2041: CM Sarma

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said on Friday that the population of Muslims is increasing every decade by at least 29 to 30 per cent and the state...

Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Read Previous

Mehbooba Mufti’s daughter alleges her phone was hacked by Pegasus spyware

Read Next

PM Modi urges Austria CEOs to invest in India’s fast-growing economy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :