TDP not to contest Telangana Assembly elections

Amaravati: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) on Sunday decided not to contest the Telangana Assembly elections scheduled next month.

With the TDP supremo and former Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu still in jail in alleged skill development scam, the party decided to stay away from the contest.

Chandrababu Naidu conveyed the decision to TDP Telangana unit president Kasani Gnaneshwar when the latter called on him in Rajahmundry Central Jail on Saturday. The TDP national president told him that in view of the current situation in Andhra Pradesh, the party can’t focus on Telangana elections.

Naidu asked him to explain to the party leaders in Telangana the circumstances which forced the party to stay away from the polls.

The former chief minister was arrested by the Crime Investigation Department (CID) in a multi-crore skill development scam on September 9. He remained in judicial custody since then and the CID is also probing his alleged involvement in two other cases.

Naidu’s family and the TDP are currently busy with the legal battle in various courts.

TDP MLA and actor N. Balakrishna had held a meeting with TDP leaders in Hyderabad recently and had asked them to gear up for the polls. Balakrishna, who is brother-in-law of Naidu, had stated that TDP will contest the elections in Telangana with full force.

Kasani Gnaneswar had also said earlier that the TDP will contest a limited number of seats in Telangana.

Chandarbabu Naidu had addressed a public meeting in Khammam in December last year. He had expressed confidence that the party will regain glory in Telangana.

This was the first TDP meeting in Telangana since crushing defeat in the 2018 Assembly elections.

The TDP had contested in the 2018 elections in Telangana in alliance with the Congress. The party could win just two seats and both the MLAs later defected to ruling TRS (now BRS).


India is known for love, not hatred: Rahul Gandhi

Patna: Congress MP Rahul Gandhi on Sunday that India is known for love and not for the hatred. “If you want to understand our alliance, I want to explain it...

Calcutta HC judge Abhijit Gangopadhyay to resign

Kolkata: Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay, Calcutta High Court judge, has announced that he will resign on Tuesday. Justice Gangopadhyay has been handling sensitive cases in the state like cash-for- school job...

Retired TN professor to walk on foot for clean electoral system

Chennai: A retired professor and former head of Political Science of Madras University, Dr. Ramu Manivannnan, will underake a walk on foot (padayatra) from Kanniyakumari to Chennai. The yatra is...

Tejashwi attacks Nitish Kumar, BJP at Jan Vishwas Maharally in Patna

Patna: Bihar Leader of the Opposition (LoP) Tejashwi Yadav attacked Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and the BJP during Jan Vishwas Maharally in Patna’s Gandhi Maidan on Sunday. Taunting the Chief...

12 states in next 10 days: PM Modi’s gruelling schedule shows BJP in ‘Mission 370’ mode

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has a tight schedule for next 10 days. As per official details, PM Modi will attend 29 programmes across 12 states/Union Territories in next...

Despite LS polls, process will start to execute tripartite agreement signed with TMP: Tripura CM

Agartala: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha has said that even as the date of the Lok Sabha would be announced soon, necessary work and process to execute the provisions of...

Criminals themselves decide when to get arrested in Bengal: PM Modi

Kolkata: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday launched a scathing attack against the West Bengal government over the law & order situation in the state, saying not the police but...

Days after joining BJP, Rana Goswami appointed Assam unit vice-president

Guwahati: Rana Goswami, who dumped Congress and joined the BJP a few days ago, has been appointed as party's vice-president in Assam. Assam BJP President Bhabesh Kalita announced on Saturday...

Centre inks tripartite agreement to address indigenous issues in Tripura

New Delhi: A tripartite agreement among the Centre, Tripura government and TIPRA Motha was inked in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, aiming to provide a "lasting solution"...

11 new faces included in Rajasthan BJP; CM, Deputy CM dropped

Jaipur: Rajasthan BJP President C.P. Joshi has announced the new state executive team wherein prominent faces such as Chief Minister Bhajan Lal Sharma and Deputy Chief Minister Diya Kumari have...

‘Will ponder if BJP gives LS ticket’, another Bihar Cong MLA hints at switching sides

Patna: After as many as seven MLAs of the Mahagathbandhan jumped ship to the NDA in Bihar recently, Neetu Singh, the Congress MLA from Hisua constituency in Nawada district, on...

PM Modi to visit Kashmir Valley on March 7, first since Article 370 abrogation

Srinagar: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to visit the Kashmir Valley on March 7, his first visit to the Valley since the abrogation of Article 370 in August 2019....

Read Previous

Israelis’ trust in their govt at a 20-year low: ‘Times of Israel’ report

Read Next

MP Cong fields 42% OBC candidates, promises more than caste census

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :