Surat’s electoral drama: Congress candidates disqualified, clear path for BJP

Surat: The electoral battle in Surat took an unexpected turn, as the Congress party faced a setback, with the Returning Officer rejecting its candidates’ nomination forms on April 21.

While in most constituencies of Gujarat the fight is mainly between two parties, the Congress and the BJP, in Surat the BJP has a clear path.

The Congress’ Nilesh Kumbhani, who was initially nominated for the Surat Lok Sabha constituency, found his candidacy invalidated after alleged discrepancies were discovered in the proposers’ signatures.

The Congress’ backup candidate Suresh Padsala also met the same fate, effectively removing the grand old party from the electoral contest in this key city.

The decision was announced by the district Returning Officer, Sourabh Pardhi, who noted that the signatures on the nomination forms needed to be more genuine.

The proposers denied having signed the forms themselves.

The controversy arose just after Dinesh Jodhani, the election agent for the BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal, raised objections.

In response, Kumbhani defended the authenticity of the signatures, suggesting that a handwriting expert and the signatories verify them.

Despite these efforts, the Returning Officer confirmed the rejections based on the affidavits and additional evidence presented during the scrutiny.

The Congress party, represented by its lawyer Babu Mangukiya, plans to challenge the decision in the higher courts.

Mukesh Dalal, the BJP candidate, remains a contender in Surat.

A veteran in local politics, Dalal has held significant positions, including Chairman of the Surat Municipal Corporation’s Standing Committee and current General Secretary of the BJP’s city unit.

His extensive experience and deep roots in the community make him a strong candidate for the seat.

Surat is responsible for three-quarters of the world’s diamond cutting and polishing trade.

The Congress party, led by late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, reclaimed the Surat seat in 1980 and maintained its hold in the 1984 elections.

However, the tide turned in 1989 when the BJP made its mark with Kashiram Rana securing the seat, initiating a series of victories in 1991, 1996, 1998, 1999, and 2004.

In a notable 2009 election, BJP’s Darshana Jardosh became the first female MP from Surat.

This constituency, which comprises Assembly seats in Olpad, Varachha Road, Surat West, Surat East, Karanj, Surat North, and Katargam, continued to favour the BJP.

In 2019, Darshana Vikram Jardosh secured a decisive win with 795,651 votes, significantly ahead of the Congress’ Ashok Patel, who garnered 247,421 votes.

Similarly, in the 2014 elections, Jardosh won with 718,412 votes, while the Congress’ Bhupat Bhai Desai trailed with 185,222 votes.

Surat Lok Sabha constituency has a notable political heritage, having been represented by some prominent figures.

Veteran BJP leader Kashiram Rana notably served as the MP from Surat for six terms, demonstrating the party’s strong influence in the region.

Additionally, the constituency boasts a distinguished history with Morarji Desai, the 7th Prime Minister of India, who served as its MP for five terms.

Since 1989, the constituency has consistently elected BJP leaders with substantial margins.


Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Returning from China, Hasina says India will develop the Teesta project

New Delhi: Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said she prefers that India completes the Teesta river basin development project, since Bangladesh has problems with India over sharing the waters...

Congress eyes Greater Hyderabad gains as BRS MLAs defect

Hyderabad: The latest defections by Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) MLAs have come as a shot in the arm for the ruling Congress party in Telangana as it looks to consolidate...

U’khand bypolls: BJP loses Badrinath seat, party’s state chief says ‘will review poor show’

New Delhi: A month after making a clean sweep in Uttarakhand in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a major jolt in the hilly state...

Himachal CM ensures win in Assembly bypolls, secures ‘absolute majority’ for Congress

Shimla: In a high-stake bypolls for three Assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu on Saturday not only ensured a win on two of three seats, including...

Prakash Ambedkar asks PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi to burn copies of Manusmriti

Mumbai: Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) founder Prakash Ambedkar on Saturday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha's Leader of the Opposition Rahul Gandhi to set ablaze copies of the...

Bengal bypoll results: Clean sweep for Trinamool in all four constituencies

Kolkata: Continuing its winning streak, West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress clinched victories with huge margins in all four Assembly constituencies that went for bypolls on July 10. With this, the...

In one-sided contest, AAP wins Punjab’s Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll

Chandigarh: In a face-saving for the AAP government in Punjab led by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, its nominee Mohinder Bhagat on Saturday won the Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll by 37,325...

Don’t be nasty to Smriti Irani, LoP Rahul says on X; BJP calls it ‘most disingenuous’

New Delhi: The Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Lok Sabha, Rahul Gandhi on Friday used his social media account to appeal in favour of BJP leader and former Union...

Read Previous

K’taka BJP to observe state-wide bandh over Neha murder case

Read Next

Bengal school job case: Calcutta HC cancels 25,753 appointments made in 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :