Sonia files nomination for RS polls from Rajasthan

Jaipur: Congress President Sonia Gandhi filed her nomination for the Rajya Sabha polls from Rajasthan on Wednesday.

She arrived at the Rajasthan Assembly with senior Congress leaders, including former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot.

Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra were also present during her nomination filing.

The party had formally announced her name only after Sonia reached Jaipur this morning. Along with Sonia Gandhi, the names of three more leaders were also announced. These include the names of Abhishek Manu Singhvi from Himachal Pradesh, Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Bihar and Chandrakant Handore from Maharashtra.

Sonia Gandhi will go to Rajya Sabha from the seat vacated by former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh.

In the Congress Legislative Party meeting called to welcome her and team in Jaipur, state President Govind Singh Dotasra said that Sonia Gandhi’s entry into the Rajya Sabha will boost the morale of the workers.

“This is a matter of pride for Rajasthan,” said Dotasara.

After Dotasra, Leader of Opposition Tika Ram Jully and former CM Ashok Gehlot also spoke. All the leaders welcomed the Gandhi family and talked about the high morale of the workers.


Union Minister Jitin Prasada’s car meets with accident in Pilibhit

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) for Commerce and Industry, Jitin Prasada, had a close shave on Saturday after his car met with an accident in Uttar Pradesh’s Pilibhit...

Assam to become Muslim-majority state by 2041: CM Sarma

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said on Friday that the population of Muslims is increasing every decade by at least 29 to 30 per cent and the state...

Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Returning from China, Hasina says India will develop the Teesta project

New Delhi: Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said she prefers that India completes the Teesta river basin development project, since Bangladesh has problems with India over sharing the waters...

Congress eyes Greater Hyderabad gains as BRS MLAs defect

Hyderabad: The latest defections by Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) MLAs have come as a shot in the arm for the ruling Congress party in Telangana as it looks to consolidate...

U’khand bypolls: BJP loses Badrinath seat, party’s state chief says ‘will review poor show’

New Delhi: A month after making a clean sweep in Uttarakhand in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a major jolt in the hilly state...

Himachal CM ensures win in Assembly bypolls, secures ‘absolute majority’ for Congress

Shimla: In a high-stake bypolls for three Assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu on Saturday not only ensured a win on two of three seats, including...

Prakash Ambedkar asks PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi to burn copies of Manusmriti

Mumbai: Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) founder Prakash Ambedkar on Saturday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha's Leader of the Opposition Rahul Gandhi to set ablaze copies of the...

Bengal bypoll results: Clean sweep for Trinamool in all four constituencies

Kolkata: Continuing its winning streak, West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress clinched victories with huge margins in all four Assembly constituencies that went for bypolls on July 10. With this, the...

Read Previous

After Sundance win, Richa & Ali’s ‘Girls Will Be Girls’ selected for South by Southwest Film Fest

Read Next

Kolkata Railway Station will turn into an economic hub soon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :