MVA’s LS seats deal: SS(UBT) grabs lion’s share, Sharad Pawar settles with least

Mumbai: Ending over two months of suspense and long-drawn negotiations, the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) finally achieved its crucial seat-sharing agreement for 48 Lok Sabha constituencies, here on Tuesday.

Under the formula, on expected lines the Shiv Sena (UBT) has cornered the lion’s share of 21 LS seats, including four in Mumbai; the Congress has got 17, including two in India’s commercial capital, while the Nationalist Congress Party (SP) has settled for 10 seats with nothing in the country’s glam hub.

The seat distribution break-down is:

Shiv Sena (UBT) — 21: Jalgaon, Parbhani, Nashik, Palghar, Kalyan, Thane, Raigad, Maval, Osmanabad, Ratnagiri, Buldhana, Hatkanangle, Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Shirdi, Sangli, Hingoli, Yavatmal-Washim, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai North West, Mumbai South, Mumbai North East.

Congress — 17: Nandurbar, Dhule, Akola, Amravati, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur, Nanded, Jalna, Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Pune, Latur, Solapur. Kolhapur, Ramtek.

NCP (SP) — 10: Baramati, Shirur, Satara, Bhiwandi, Dindori, Madha, Raver, Wardha, Ahmednagar South, Beed.

The announcement was made in the presence of all the other MVA allies including smaller parties like PWP, CPI, AAP, CPM, SP and other Dalit parties.

After aggressive posturing by all parties, the MVA main partners have also smoothly negotiated certain contentious seats like Sangli, Mumbai, Satara, Bhiwandi and others, with reluctant give-and-take or ‘magnanimous sacrifices’ by all three allies.

The SS (UBT) got Sangli which it desperately coveted, the NCP (SP) got the Bhiwandi seat that all parties wanted, while the Congress got two of at least three seats it demanded in Mumbai.

However, none of the other smaller allies in the MVA-INDIA bloc got a single seat and they have reportedly agreed to work for the bigger parties to ensure defeat for the ruling MahaYuti-NDA alliance Shiv Sena-Bharatiya Janata Party-Nationalist Congress Party candidates in the state.

This is expected to pave the way for a direct contest among the main alliances — the MVA-INDIA bloc and the ruling MahaYuti-NDA.

However, the Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) has decided to field candidates in many of the 48 LS seats, which could upset the apple cart either way for the two prime contender groups.

While the main contenders have already finalised/announced their candidates for a majority of the LS constituencies, the rest shall be done in the coming few days, the MVA leaders assured.

Pawar said that there was no difference on any seat, while Thackeray appreciated the smaller parties for not building pressures on the alliance to “contest seats in view of the larger aim to save democracy”.


Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Returning from China, Hasina says India will develop the Teesta project

New Delhi: Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said she prefers that India completes the Teesta river basin development project, since Bangladesh has problems with India over sharing the waters...

Congress eyes Greater Hyderabad gains as BRS MLAs defect

Hyderabad: The latest defections by Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) MLAs have come as a shot in the arm for the ruling Congress party in Telangana as it looks to consolidate...

U’khand bypolls: BJP loses Badrinath seat, party’s state chief says ‘will review poor show’

New Delhi: A month after making a clean sweep in Uttarakhand in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a major jolt in the hilly state...

Himachal CM ensures win in Assembly bypolls, secures ‘absolute majority’ for Congress

Shimla: In a high-stake bypolls for three Assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu on Saturday not only ensured a win on two of three seats, including...

Prakash Ambedkar asks PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi to burn copies of Manusmriti

Mumbai: Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) founder Prakash Ambedkar on Saturday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha's Leader of the Opposition Rahul Gandhi to set ablaze copies of the...

Bengal bypoll results: Clean sweep for Trinamool in all four constituencies

Kolkata: Continuing its winning streak, West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress clinched victories with huge margins in all four Assembly constituencies that went for bypolls on July 10. With this, the...

In one-sided contest, AAP wins Punjab’s Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll

Chandigarh: In a face-saving for the AAP government in Punjab led by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, its nominee Mohinder Bhagat on Saturday won the Jalandhar (West) Assembly bypoll by 37,325...

Don’t be nasty to Smriti Irani, LoP Rahul says on X; BJP calls it ‘most disingenuous’

New Delhi: The Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Lok Sabha, Rahul Gandhi on Friday used his social media account to appeal in favour of BJP leader and former Union...

Read Previous

Why India is seeing a rising trend of diseases

Read Next

Sandeshkhali tense after attack on police camp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :