EC releases absolute numbers of voters turnout for first five phases

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India on Saturday said that they have decided to further expand the format of the release of turnout data to include the absolute number of voters in every parliamentary constituency as it announced these figures for the five phases completed so far.

“The Commission feels duly strengthened by the Supreme Court’s observations and verdict on the process of release of turnout data by the Election Commission of India. This brings upon the Commission, a higher responsibility to serve the cause of electoral democracy with undeterred resolution.”

“The Commission has therefore decided to further expand the format of the release of turnout data to include the absolute number of voters in every parliamentary constituency, which of course is discernible Parliamentary Constituency wise by all citizens themselves by applying the turnout percentage to total electors, both already made available in the public domain,” it said.

The absolute number of voter turnout for the first five phases is 507,297,288.

In the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls, the turnout was 110,052,103, the second phase witnessed a turnout of 105,830,572 voters, the third phase 113,234,676, the fourth phase 122,469,319 and the fifth phase a 55,710,618 turnout.

“The process of collection and storage of votes polled is rigorous, transparent, and participative. The Commission and its officials across the states have been disseminating voter turnout data in the best possible manner, taking into account statutory considerations,” the EC said in a statement.

It claimed that the whole exercise of the release of turnout data from the date of commencement of polls on April 19 has been accurate, consistent and in accordance with election laws and without any discrepancy whatsoever.

“The Commission has informed in the public domain and also to individual political parties the detailed process of recording and release of turnout data and the manner of custody and usages of form 17C,” it said.

It underlined that there has been no delay in the release of voter turnout data.

Voter turnout data was always available 24X7 on the facilitative Voter Turnout App from 9.30 a.m. on the poll day of each phase.

“The EC publishes estimated voter turnout on two hourly basis till 1730 hrs (5.30 p.m.). After 1900 hours (7 p.m.) when the polling parties start arriving, data is continuously updated. By midnight on the poll day, the Voter turnout app will show the best estimated ‘Close of Poll (COP)’ data in percentage form,” it added.



Unexpected Camaraderie: Sonia Gandhi, Jaya Bachchan break barriers with smiles

New Delhi: A video on Wednesday captured a significant moment: Sonia Gandhi and Jaya Bachchan engaged in a jovial conversation in Parliament, sharing laughter and signalling a potential thaw in...

Jayant Chaudhary criticises Yogi govt’s nameplate order for Kanwar Yarta

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) Jayant Chaudhary on Sunday criticised the Yogi government over its nameplate order directing all eateries and dhabas along the Kanwar Yatra route to...

Oppn raises Kanwar Yatra issue, NDA allies seek special status for Bihar at all-party meet

New Delhi: The Centre on Sunday in the all-party meeting urged the parties to ensure the smooth functioning of Parliament even as the opposition raised the Kanwar Yatra row and...

NDA allies ‘sacrificed’ ministerial berths for money: Mamata Banerjee

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday alleged that the BJP allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the Centre “sacrificed” ministerial berths for money. “Have you...

Current Union govt won’t last long: Akhilesh Yadav

Kolkata: The current NDA government at the Centre will not last long and it will get toppled very soon, claimed Samajwadi Party President and Lok Sabha MP Akhilesh Yadav on...

Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav two architects of LS election outcome: Abhishek Banerjee

Kolkata: In a significant statement, Trinamool Congress General Secretary and MP Abhishek Banerjee, on Sunday, said that West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav are...

Union Minister Jitin Prasada’s car meets with accident in Pilibhit

New Delhi: Union Minister of State (MoS) for Commerce and Industry, Jitin Prasada, had a close shave on Saturday after his car met with an accident in Uttar Pradesh’s Pilibhit...

Assam to become Muslim-majority state by 2041: CM Sarma

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said on Friday that the population of Muslims is increasing every decade by at least 29 to 30 per cent and the state...

Panel to review new criminal laws triggers war of words in Bengal

Kolkata: A political slugfest erupted in West Bengal on Thursday over the state government notification on Wednesday on the formation of a seven-member committee to review the three new criminal...

Karnataka to go for reservation only after consultations: IT Minister Priyank Kharge

Bengaluru: Amid concerns over the proposed Bill providing reservation to local Kannadigas in the private sector, Karnataka IT Minister Priyank Kharge assured industrialists that the Congress government in the state...

Delhi HC reserves verdict on CM Kejriwal’s plea challenging his arrest by CBI

New Delhi, July 17 : The Delhi High Court on Wednesday reserved its verdict on a plea filed by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenging his arrest by the CBI in...

BRS loses 10th MLA to Congress in Telangana

Hyderabad: In yet another jolt to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Telangana, its MLA G. Mahipal Reddy joined the ruling Congress on Monday. The MLA from Patancheru joined the Congress...

Read Previous

NDA won’t spare those who looted Bihar, this is Modi Ki Guarantee: PM Modi

Read Next

Bengal: Violence spreads to tribal-dominated Jhargram constituency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :