Congress, JMM, JVM-P announce seat sharing, RJD unhappy

March 24, 2019

Ranchi: The Congress, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) on Sunday announced an alliance in the state for the Lok Sabha battle but the RJD boycotted the deal after it was given only one seat to contest.

JMM chief Shibu Soren and Executive President Hemant Soren, state Congress President Ajay Kumar and JVM-P President Babulal Marandi were present at a joint press conference but no one from the RJD attended it.

“We have agreed to fight the elections in an alliance,” said Shibu Soren.

Giving details, Ajay Kumar said the Congress, JMM, JVM-P and RJD will fight on seven, four, two and one Lok Sabha seats respectively.

The Congress will contest from Ranchi, Lohardaga, Chatra, Hazaribagh, Koderma, Chaibsa and Khuti seats, JMM from Jamshedpur, Girididh, Rajmahal and Dumka and JVM-P from Godda and Koderma seats. Palamau seat has been left for the RJD.

But in the Assembly elections, the opposition parties will contest under leadership of JMM leader Hemant Soren.

JMM will fight most Assembly seats.

Hemant Soren said: “The grand alliance is not only for Lok Sabha but will continue in the Assembly elections too. While forming the alliance we have decided to send a person belonging to the Muslim community to the Rajya Sabha in 2020.

The alliance also decided to suspend party leaders who try to fight the Lok Sabha polls as rebel candidate from any seat.

Asked about the RJD’s unhappiness over the seat sharing, Ajay Kumar said the party had been given Palamau seat. “Talks are on to convince RJD to be part of the alliance.”

In a separate press conference, RJD leader Sanjay Yadav said that his party will contest on both Palamau and Chatra seats “come what may”.

The Congress, JMM and JVM-P have also agreed to form a coordination committee for the Lok Sabha elections.


Tripura tribal party to blockade state’s lifeline on Feb 28 over ‘Greater Tipraland’ demand

Agartala: Tripura's main opposition party, the Tipra Motha Party (TMP), will block the National Highway 8, the state's lifeline, on February 28 in protest against the Central government's "procrastination" in...

Will BJP be able to replicate the Nandigram model in Sandeshkhali?

Kolkata: As Sandeshkhali, a conglomerate of islands in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, continues to boil over agitation of local women against the sexual harassment of local Trinamool...

Four MLAs from Congress, NPP join ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar: Just ahead of assembly polls, four sitting MLAs – two from the opposition Congress and two from National People's Party (NPP) – on Sunday joined the ruling BJP in...

Akhilesh joins Rahul’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Agra

Agra (UP): In a display of unity among INDIA members, Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav, on Sunday, joined the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra led by Rahul Gandhi in Agra. The...

RLD MLAs to vote for BJP in RS polls, attend CM Yogi’s meeting on Monday

Lucknow: Even before a formal announcement of the BJP-Rashtriya Lok Dal pact is made, the RLD has said that all its nine MLAs in Uttar Pradesh will not only vote...

‘Not farmers but Khalistanis’: K’taka BJP MP on farmers’ protest

Bengaluru: BJP MP from Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency, Anantkumar Hegde, said on Saturday that those who are taking part in protests in New Delhi are not farmers but are...

Ahmed Patel’s son Faisal miffed with Congress over Bharuch LS seat going in AAP’s kitty

Surat: The Congress party in Surat is facing intense internal conflict after Congress-AAP alliance allotted Bharuch Lok Sabha seat to AAP. Bharuch Lok Sabha constituency is closely associated with Faisal...

New political alignment on cards in TN as PMK MLAs meet EPS

Chennai: The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), the political arm of Vanniyar community which has been a NDA ally in 2019 Lok Sabha polls and 2021 Assembly elections, have started to...

Trinamool ignores Congress’ call to keep doors open for seat-sharing talks

Kolkata: Congress’ desperate attempts to convince the Trinamool Congress to keep the doors for seat-sharing negotiations open do not seem to be cutting any ice with the ruling party of...

AAP withdraws from LS polls in Goa, supports Congress

Panaji: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Saturday declared support to Congress for both of the Lok Sabha seats in Goa, after a seat-sharing agreement reached between them.The AAP, which had...

Lok Sabha polls 2024: AAP and Cong announce seat sharing tie-up for Haryana, Delhi, Gujarat

New Delhi: Confirming their alliance, the INDIA bloc constituents AAP and Congress on Saturday announced their seat sharing tie-up for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections for Delhi, Gujarat, and Haryana....

PM Modi’s electoral journey began on this day in 2002

New Delhi :Exactly 22 years ago on this day, the electoral journey of Prime Minister Narendra Modi began. It was on February 24, 2002 when PM Modi stepped into the...

Read Previous

India seeks details on Hindu girls’ abduction

Read Next

Rahul slams Javadekar for restricting PhD topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :