BJD walks out as LS begins debate on no trust motion against Modi government

July 20, 2018
New Delhi: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) members walked out of the Lok Sabha on Friday as the House began a debate on a no-confidence motion moved by the opposition against Prime Minister Narendra Modis government.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said the discussion on the no trust motion would continue for the entire day and the vote would take place at 6 p.m.

She said the House would also skip lunch.

Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge sought more time from the Speaker saying 38 minutes allotted for his party leaders to address the Lok Sabha was not enough.

He also sought more time for the members of Trinamool Congress, Left parties and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

“This is a very important motion. The country is watching us to know what we have to say and how the government is going to respond. Don’t limit the time. There are precedents when no-confidence motions have been debated for two, three or even five days. Therefore if you sum up in five hours, it is not justified,” Kharge said.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar responded, saying Kharge is a senior leader but needed to understand that “in one-day cricket era, there was no need to play a test cricket match for five days”.

The BJD, which has 19 members in the Lok Sabha after the resignation of Kendrapara MP Baijyant Jay Panda, then walked out.

Its leader Bhartruhari Mahtab said injustice had been done to Odisha in the last 14 years and the BJP government at the Centre has failed to safeguard the interests of the state.

“In the last 14 years, the BJD has witnessed that the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) for 10 years and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) for four years have done injustice with Odisha. And this discussion is not going to help Odisha. So we are not going to participate,” Mahtab said.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), an estranged ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA government, moved the no-confidence motion on Wednesday, which was admitted by Mahajan.

The no-confidence motion has the support of the Congress, Trinamool Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M).

The ruling NDA, however, enjoys a comfortable majority in the House. The BJP which leads the ruling combine has 273 members in the House that has an effective strength of 533, excluding the Speaker.

SC says ‘forced’ religious conversion serious issue, asks Centre to file affidavit

The plea by BJP leader and advocate Ashwini Upadhyay seeks stringent steps to tackle forceful religious conversions Critics are of the view that the stringent anti-conversion law is against the...

Muslim villagers reacted to public flogging, boycotted polls in Gujarat

According to the FIR, Muslims in the village objected to garba being organised near a mosque, which is located across the temple Local police arrested some Muslims for allegedly throwing...

Gujarat Assembly Elections: 50% voter turnout till 3 p.m.

Gandhinagar: The second phase of Gujarat Assembly elections for which polling was underway on Monday witnessed a voter turnout of 50.51 per cent till 3 p.m., officials said. The polling in...

Karnataka denies entry to Maharashtra ministers visiting border district

Belagavi (Karnataka): In a major development, the Karnataka government has denied entry to Maharashtra ministers visiting the bordering Belagavi district. Nitesh Patil, Deputy Commissioner of Belagavi said on Monday that the...

Lingayat Mutt scandal: Mother of victims writes to Prez, seeks justice or mercy killing

Mysuru (Karnataka): The mother of two victims in the Lingayat Mutt sex scandal on Monday wrote a letter to President Droupadi Murmu, mentioning that they either be given justice or granted...

Opposition walks out of Kerala Assembly over back-door appointments

Thiruvananthapuram: The first day of the special sitting of the Kerala Assembly ended quickly on Monday after the Congress-led opposition staged a walk-out over unsatisfactory reply of Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan...

Farooq Abdullah re-elected unopposed as NC chief

Srinagar: Former chief minister and Lok Sabha member, Dr. Farooq Abdullah was re-elected unopposed as the president of the National Conference (NC) party on Monday. NC presidential polls were held on...

PM inaugurates two-day national office-bearers meeting in Delhi

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday inaugurated a two-day national officer-bearers meeting at the BJP headquarters here. The meeting is being attended by BJP national president J.P. Nadda, party...

Four Gujarat villages boycott polls over lack of development

Mehsana (Gujarat): The voters in four villages of Gujarat's Mehsana district said they were boycotting the elections as no development had taken place in their areas. The Becharaji Taluka Bariyaf village...

Border dispute: Legal action if Maha ministers try to enter K’taka, says CM Bommai

Hubballi (Karnataka) : Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai warned on Monday that his government will not hesitate to take appropriate action if the ministers from Maharashtra try to enter Karnataka under...

Border row: Maha ministers to enter K’taka, Kannada activists to swarm Belagavi

Bengaluru: The border row has escalated in Belagavi in Karnataka with Maharashtra ministers announcing their visit to the border city on Tuesday. The Kannada organisations on the other hand have...

Gujarat poll phase-2: PM Modi casts his vote in Ahemdabad

Gandhinagar: Voting on 93 seats for the second and the final phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections was underway on Monday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the early voters...

Read Previous

Aircel-Maxis case: Chidambaram approved investment beyond his mandate, says CBI

Read Next

World– Russia opposes US unilateral sanctions on Iran: Envo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :