Amaravati is capital of Andhra Pradesh, declares Chandrababu Naidu

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister-designate N. Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday declared that Amaravati is the state capital.

Addressing a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which elected him as the leader, he made it clear that his government would not play with the state’s future in the name of three state capitals and would continue development of Amaravati as the state capital.

“Even after 10 years we are not in a position to say where is our state capital,” he said, slamming the previous government of YSR Congress Party for putting a halt to the development of Amaravati as the state capital.

In 2019, the Jagan Mohan Reddy-led government reversed the decision by the earlier TDP government to develop Amaravati as the state capital and announced that three state capitals would be developed.

The YSCRP government had mooted Visakhapatnam as the administrative capital, Kurnool as the judicial capital and Amaravati as the legislative capital.

“Our capital is Amaravati,” declared Naidu, who is set to take oath as the Chief Minister on Wednesday.

Naidu assured that Visakhapatnam will be developed as a financial capital and a modern city and Kurnool will be developed in all respects.

Revealing that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and NDA leaders will attend the swearing-in ceremony on Wednesday, Naidu said the Centre’s help was required for the state’s development.

The Chief Minister-designate vowed to complete the Polavaram project. Claiming that the TDP government in the past had completed 72 per cent of the works, he said the remaining works would be completed with the Centre’s help.

Stating that their government will be a ‘people’s government’, the TDP chief said there would be no Praja Vedika-like demolitions.

He was referring to the demolition of a meeting hall adjacent to his house, which was built when he was the chief minister.

Alleging that the previous government pursued politics of vendetta, he underlined the need to move ahead with constructive politics.

Naidu said the people gave an unprecedented mandate to the TDP and its allies in the state. “We have won 93 per cent of seats. This is the first time in the country,” he said.

Asserting that 57 per cent of people voted for the alliance, the TDP chief said it was now time to live up to their expectations by rebuilding the state.

He was all praise for Jana Sena leader Pawan Kalyan for taking the initiative to ally with the TDP when he (Naidu) was in jail. Later, the BJP also joined hands with them, thus ensuring that the anti-YSRCP votes were not split.

Reiterating that the YSRCP government carried out destruction, Naidu said those who indulged in irregularities would be punished as per the law.

The TDP chief also recalled that his family was insulted in the Assembly. “I called it Kaurava Sabha and came out. I vowed to return to the Assembly after a win in the people’s court. People supported me in fulfilling this pledge,” he said.

Stating that he served as the Chief Minister for 14 years and Leader of Opposition for 15 years, Naidu said he converted every crisis into opportunity. “Andhra Pradesh has many problems. The state is in complete ruins. All sections have suffered. Farmers have landed in debt,” he said.

Naidu also assured that during his visits there will be no closure of shops and roads and putting up curtains. “Chief Minister is also an ordinary man. The post is for service and not for supremacy. I have told (police) not to inconvenience people during the movement of my convoy,” he said



INDIA bloc wants to include Chandrashekhar Azad for 2027 UP polls

Lucknow: Buoyed up by its recent victory in the Lok Sabha elections, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress in Uttar Pradesh are now looking to expand their vote base...

Amit Shah advises security forces to crush terrorism in J&K at all cost

New Delhi: Union Home Minister Amit Shah, on Sunday, directed security forces to crush growing terrorism in Jammu division, wipe it out from Jammu & Kashmir and ensure complete security...

TMC announces candidates for bypolls to four assembly seats in Bengal

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress on Friday announced the names of party candidates for by-elections to four assembly constituencies scheduled on July 10. The party has fielded Krishna Kalyani, who won from...

Resolve Maratha demands by Friday: Jarange-Patil warns Maha govt

Jalna (Maharashtra): On the sixth day of his hunger strike, Shivba Sanghatana leader Manoj Jarange-Patil on Thursday served an ultimatum to the Maharashtra government to decide on the pending Maratha...

Pema Khandu takes oath as Arunachal CM for 3rd straight term

Itanagar: Pema Khandu, who was re-elected as the BJP Legislature Party leader on Wednesday, took oath as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister for the third straight term on Thursday. Governor Lt-Gen...

Rahul Gandhi in dilemma on whether to retain Wayanad or Raebareli

Kozhikode: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday said that he was in a dilemma as to which constituency he should relinquish -- Wayanad or Raebareli. He was in his constituency,...

Trinamool’s Abhishek Banerjee announces ‘short hiatus’ from political activities

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress’ General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee, on Wednesday afternoon, announced his decision to take a “short hiatus” from political and organisational activities. He has cited medical grounds as the...

Chandrababu Naidu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, turns emotional

Vijayawada: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president Nara Chandrababu Naidu turned emotional after taking oath as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh here on Wednesday. Naidu hugged Prime Minister Narendra Modi soon...

First session of 18th Lok Sabha begins on June 24

New Delhi: A special 10-day session of the Lok Sabha will commence on June 24 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members, Election of Speaker, President’s Address and discussion. This was...

AAP slams NDA govt over induction of Manjhi in Cabinet, cites his insulting remarks on Lord Ram

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday trained its guns at the NDA government over the induction of Jitan Ram Manjhi in the Union Cabinet despite the latter’s...

These UP MPs may lose membership if they get convicted

Lucknow: At least six newly elected MPs of the INDIA bloc and one more, are facing criminal charges which could attract a jail term of more than two years. If...

Chandrababu Naidu unanimously elected leader of NDA MLAs in Andhra Pradesh

Amaravati: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N. Chandrababu Naidu was Tuesday unanimously elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Andhra Pradesh. At a meeting of the...

Read Previous

Reel hero turns real life villain: Kannada superstar Darshan arrested in fan’s murder case

Read Next

AAP slams NDA govt over induction of Manjhi in Cabinet, cites his insulting remarks on Lord Ram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :