BJP denies tickets to Shanta Kumar, Kariya Munda

March 23, 2019
New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday came out with its fifth list of 48 candidates, denying tickets to party veterans Shanta Kumar and Kariya Munda while shifting Parliamentary Affairs Minister Narendra Singh Tomar to Morena from Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh.

Besides Kumar and Munda, the party has also denied tickets to six sitting MPs — four from Madhya Pradesh and one each from Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh.

The fifth list has candidates for both of Goa’s seats, 15 from Madhya Pradesh, 10 from Jharkhand, 15 from Gujarat, all four from Himachal Pradesh and two from Karnataka.

The names were finalised on Friday in a meeting of the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) headed by party President Amit Shah and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari, among others.

In Madhya Pradesh, where the BJP tasted defeat in the recent Assembly polls, the party has denied tickets to four sitting MPs — Bhagirath Prasad from Bhind, Gyan Singh from Shahdol, Chintamani Malviya from Ujjain and Jyoti Dhurve from Betul.

They have been replaced by Sandhya Rai (Bhind), Himadri Singh (Shahdol), Anil Firojia (Ujjain) and Durgadas Uikey (Betul).

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP had won 26 out of the 29 parliamentary seats in Madhya Pradesh.

Tomar has been shifted to Morena, the seat represented by Anoop Mishra, nephew of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Among the 15 candidates from Madhya Pradesh whose names were announced on Saturday, the following have retained their seats — Union Minister Virendra Kumar Khateek (Tikamgarh), Prahlad Patel (Damoh), Ganesh Singh (Satna), Janardan Mishra (Rewa), Riti Pathak (Sidhi), state BJP chief Rakesh Singh (Jabalpur), former Union Minister Faggan Singh Kulaste (Mandla), Uday Pratap Singh (Hoshangabad), Sudhir Gupta (Mandsaur) and former state BJP head Nand Kumar Singh Chouhan (Khandwa).

The BJP also released the names of 15 candidates from Gujarat, denying ticket to Surendranagar MP Devji Bhai Fatepara who has been replaced by Mahendra Bhai Munjpara.

Those who retained their seats are — Vinod Bhai Chavda (Kachchh), Dipsinh Radhod (Sabarkantha), Kirit Bhai Solanki (Ahmedabad West), Mohan Bhai Kundariya (Rajkot), Punamben Madam (Jamnagar), Naran Bhai Kchhadia (Amreli), Bharti Ben Shiyal (Bhavnagar), Devusinh Chauhan (Kheda), Jashvant Singh Bhabhor (Dahod), Mansukh Bhai Vasava (Bharuch), Prabhu Bhai Vasava (Bardoli), C.R. Patil (Navsari) and K.C. Patel (Valsad).

The fifth list also features two other Union Ministers — Jayant Sinha and Shripad Yesso Naik. Sinha will contest from Hazaribagh in Jharkhand while Naik will again contest from North Goa. South Goa MP Narendra Keshav Sawaikar has also been re-nominated.

In Jharkhand, the party has denied ticket to former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker Munda. He has been replaced by former Chief Minister Arjun Munda.

The party has also re-nominated Nishikant Dubey (Godda), Pashupati Nath Singh (Dhanbad), Vidhyut Varan Mahato (Jamshedpur), Laxman Giluva (Singhbhum), Union Minister Sudarshan Bhagat (Lohardaga) and Vishnu Dayal Ram (Palamau).

The list also features some other prominent names in Himachal Pradesh, including Anurag Thakur from Hamirpur and Ramswaroop Sharma from Mandi. The party has denied ticket to Shimla MP Virendra Kashyap who has been replaced by Suresh Kashyap.

The BJP has fielded S. Muniswami from Kolar in Karnataka and has supported an independent candidate, Sumalatha, in Mandya.

The party also declared its candidates for the Assembly by-polls for three seats each in Gujarat and Goa. The by-polls will be held along with the Lok Sabha polls in the third phase on April 23.


Jennifer Aniston wears huge diamond ring, sparks engagement rumours

Los Angeles: Hollywood star Jennifer Aniston has sparked engagement rumours after she was seen wearing a humongous diamond ring on her left hand at the SAG Awards. The actress, who...

MEA responds to Indians caught in conflict in Russia, urges caution

New Delhi: Responding to the reports of Indian nationals forced to fight in the Russia-Ukraine war, the Ministry of External Affairs said on Friday that it is aware of the...

Owaisi urges PM, EAM to bring back Indians ‘stranded’ in Russia

Hyderabad: AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi on Wednesday urged Prime Minister Narendra Modi and External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar to take steps to bring back 12 Indians who were reportedly forced...

Jaishankar’s brief interaction with Chinese counterpart in Munich

New Delhi: External Affairs Minister Dr S. Jaishankar and his Chinese counterpart Wang Yi had a brief conversation on the sidelines of the Munich Security Conference. The interaction took place...

Attack on Indian students: US says ‘working very hard’ to address the issue

Washington: Asserting that there is no excuse for violence based on race or gender, the White House has said that the US is working very hard to thwart and disrupt...

Proud of diaspora, will deepen India’s bilateral ties with UAE, Qatar: Modi (LD)

New Delhi: Hailing the Indian diaspora ahead of his two-day visit to the UAE and Qatar beginning on Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke of close, friendly ties and said...

Qatar court releases 8 ex-Indian Navy personnel; 7 back in India: MEA

New Delhi: India on Monday has welcomed the decision of the Qatar court to release the eight former Indian Army personnel, who were previously sentenced to death, said the Ministry...

Padma 2024 Awardee Pandit Laxman Bhatt Tailang passes away before receiving award

Jaipur: Even before he could receive the Padma Shri award announced by the government on the eve of January 26, Dhrupadacharya Pandit Laxman Bhatt Tailang, passed away at 9 am...

US visas to Indians have shot up by 60%: Ambassador Garcetti

New Delhi: The number of US visas issued to Indian students and businessmen has shot up by 60% in recent months compared to the previous year and efforts are on...

Development of North-South corridor linking India, Russia priority for Moscow: Lavrov

United Nations: The development of the North-South Corridor (NSC) -- linking India and Russia -- is a priority for Moscow as the two countries explore alternatives to the Western routes,...

Canada to probe India’s alleged interference in Federal elections

Ottawa: Months after Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau accused India of having a role in killing of pro-Khalistan leader Hardeep Singh Nijjar, a designated terrorist in New Delhi, Ottawa has...

‘Israel-Hamas conflict spillover to region through shipping attacks has impact on India’

United Nations: The spillover of the Israel-Hamas conflict to “the vicinity of India” with attacks on shipping by Houthi rebels has an impact on India’s economic interests, according to Deputy...

Read Previous

Maharashtra’s 56-party alliance ready to take on BJP-Sena

Read Next

Thousands join London Brexit referendum march

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :