Polling underway for Delhi LS polls, voters make beeline to exercise their right

New Delhi: Braving scorching heat, voters turned out in large numbers to exercise their right to franchise at polling booths in seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls on Saturday.

The national capital witnessed an early voter turnout of 8.94 per cent by 9 a.m.

Among the constituencies, West Delhi recorded the highest voter turnout at 9.72 per cent till 9 a.m, followed by Northeast Delhi at 10.15 per cent, marking it as the constituency with the highest early participation.

East Delhi also saw a significant voter turnout at 8.82 per cent. Chandani Chowk, one of the prominent constituencies, registered a turnout of 7.83 per cent, reflecting steady voter engagement. South Delhi, another crucial constituency, reported 8.88 per cent.

A total of 1.52 crore voters, including 82 lakh males, 69 lakh females, and 1,228 third-gender voters, are expected to exercise their franchise at 13,000 polling stations spread across 2,627 locations in Delhi.

The voting process began at 7 a.m. with more than 2.52 lakh first-time voters participating in this crucial phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which achieved a clean sweep in Delhi during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, has made significant changes to its lineup this year, retaining only one of its sitting MPs, actor-turned-politician Manoj Tiwari from Northeast Delhi.

The six new candidates are Praveen Khandelwal (Chandni Chowk), Harsh Deep Malhotra (East Delhi), Yogender Chandolia (Northwest Delhi), Ramvir Singh Bhiduri (South Delhi), Kamaljeet Singh Sehrawat (West Delhi), and Bansuri Swaraj, the daughter of late BJP veteran Sushma Swaraj, from New Delhi.

For this election, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress are contesting together as part of the INDIA bloc. AAP is fielding candidates in four constituencies – East Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, and New Delhi – while Congress is contesting the remaining three seats – Northeast Delhi, Northwest Delhi, and Chandni Chowk.

The AAP candidates include Kuldeep Kumar (East Delhi), Sahiram Pehalwan (South Delhi), Mahabal Mishra (West Delhi), and Somnath Bharti (New Delhi).

Congress has nominated Udit Raj (Northwest Delhi), Jai Prakash Agarwal (Chandni Chowk), and former JNU Students’ Union President Kanhaiya Kumar (Northeast Delhi).


AAP accuses BJP of conspiring to kill Kejriwal in jail

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday accused the BJP of hatching a plot to kill Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal by not providing him proper medical care...

Delhi HC orders DDA to demolish all unauthorised constructions on Yamuna river banks

New Delhi: The Delhi High Court has ordered the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) to demolish all unauthorised constructions on the Yamuna river bank. A bench, headed by Acting Chief Justice...

SC judge recuses himself from hearing Sisodia’s bail pleas

New Delhi: Supreme Court judge, Justice Sanjay Kumar on Thursday withdrew himself from hearing the bail plea of senior AAP leader, Manish Sisodia, in the alleged liquor policy scam. At...

BJP accuses Delhi govt of ‘surreptitiously’ increasing power tariff

New Delhi: Delhi BJP President Virendra Sachdeva on Wednesday accused the AAP government of "surreptitiously" increasing electricity tariffs under the guise of the Power Purchase Adjustment Cost (PPAC) Act. Sachdeva...

Short-term PM2.5 exposures killed 33,000 people annually in India, Delhi highest

New Delhi: Short-term air pollution exposure claimed 33,000 lives annually in 10 cities in India and Delhi tops the list with 12,000 deaths every year, according to a study published...

CM Kejriwal’s judicial custody extended till July 12

New Delhi: A Delhi court on Wednesday extended till July 12 the judicial custody of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in connection with the money laundering case linked to the alleged...

Delhi airport canopy collapse: One dead, several injured

New Delhi: At least one person was killed and eight others injured after a canopy of Terminal-1 at Delhi's Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport collapsed on cars amid heavy rain...

Rain submerges Delhi-NCR, breaks 88-year-old record

New Delhi: Heavy rainfall in Delhi-NCR that started on Thursday, led to widespread waterlogging and severe traffic jams on Friday morning. According to the Meteorological Department, Delhi received 228 mm...

Heavy rain in Delhi-NCR brings relief from intense heat

New Delhi: Parts of the Delhi-NCR on Thursday received rain, bringing relief from the prevailing hot and humid conditions. The India Meteorological Department (IMD) predicted thunderstorms and more showers during...

Atishi’s health deteriorates during hunger strike, admitted to LNJP Hospital

New Delhi: Amid the ongoing water crisis in the national capital, Delhi Water Minister Atishi, who is on an indefinite hunger strike, was admitted to Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Hospital...

Giving ample water, Delhi facing crisis because of inefficient govt: Haryana CM

New Delhi: Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini on Monday dismissed charges of any discrimination against the national capital in terms of water supply and blamed it on the ‘inept...

Atishi alleges ‘foul play’ in water leakage, urges CP to deploy cops to patrol major pipelines

New Delhi: Alleging foul play in the leakage of water pipelines, Delhi’s water minister Atishi on Sunday wrote a letter to the city's Commissioner of Police (CP) Sanjay Arora and...

Read Previous

Polling underway in Bengal, two die in violence

Read Next

Severe cyclone likely to hit Bengal; NDRF teams deployed, Army & Navy on alert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com