Anamika receives Sahitya Akademy Award, an honour for any Hindi poetess after 66 years

New Delhi: Noted Hindi poetess Anamika, senior Congress leader and former Union Minister M Veerappa Moily, and English poet Anurdhati Subramaniam were presented the Sahitya Akademi Award for the year 2020 here on Saturday.

Anamika, a professor of English in Delhi University, is the first Hindi poetess to receive the Akademy award after 66 years. The awards were presented by Sahitya Akademi President Chand Shekhar Kam Damat physically at a function held after a gap of almost two years due to the Corona pandemic.

On this occasion, former President of Akademi and Fellow of Sahitya Akademi Vishwanath Tiwari and Vice President of Akademi Madhav Kaushik were present as chief guests.

Two writers received this award posthumously at the ceremony. These include Hriday Kaal Bharti of Kashmiri and Dharanidhar Ovari of Bodo.

Besides, Kamalakant Jhan (Maithli), Hussain-ul-Haq(Urdu), Apoorva Kumar Shakya(Assamese), Shankar(DShankar), Harish Meenshru(Gujarati), RS Bhaskar(R S B haskar), Malayalam, Omachari N. N. Pillai( Malayalam), Manipuri, E. Deven Singh,( Manipuri), Sankardev Dhakal(Nepali), Gurdev Singh Rupana(Punjabi), Bhanwar Singh Samour(Rajasthani) and Mahesh Chandra Sharma Gautam(Sanskrit), Roopchand Hansda(Santhali), Jetho Lalvani(Sindhi) , Ima Yama(Tamil) and Nikhileshwar (Telugu) were also given the award.

Each writer was given a cheque of Rs 100000, a citation, and an insignia.

The highlight of this year’s Akademy awards was the slection of Anamika as the first woman to get the honour for Hindi poetry. Born in Muzaffarpur, Bihar, Anamika has been teaching English at the capital’s Satyavati College after her masters from Delhi University.


Naipaul’s celebrated biographer Patrick French passes away at 57

New Delhi: Patrick French, the biographer of Sir Vidia Naipaul and Francis Younghusband, and Dean of the School of Art and Sciences at Ahmedabad University, passed away on Thursday in...

Oscars 2023: Michelle Yeoh breaks glass ceiling for Asian actresses with her win

Los Angeles: Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh has become the first Asian actress to walk home with the Best Actress honour at the 95th Academy Awards. Yeoh was awarded for her...

Oscars 2023: ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ picks 7 titles including Best Picture

Los Angeles:'Everything Everywhere All at Once' was named best picture at the 95th Academy Awards, capping off an improbable awards season run by winning the movie business's highest honour. The...

Oscars 2023: ‘Naatu Naatu’ once again beats Rihanna, Lady Gaga; wins Best Original Song

Los Angeles: 'Naatu Naatu' picturised on Ram Charan and NTR Jr from the film 'RRR' made India proud again as it won the Best Original Song at the 95th Academy...

‘Bheed’ deals with wider issues of privilege and deprivation, says Dia Mirza

Mumbai: Actress Dia Mirza, who stars in 'Bheed', said that the story of the film is much about wider issues of privilege and deprivation, power and powerlessness, humanity and inhumanity,...

Mir Taqi ‘Mir’, 300 years on: The startlingly modern pioneer of Urdu ghazal

Whenever lyricists of Bollywood or Lollywood seemed stuck for the beginning of a song, they could always turn to Mir. One of his most famous ghazals "Patta patta boota boota...

Paintings of legendary Cristiano Ronaldo by Indian artist wins accolades

Riyadh: An incredible bunch of 22 paintings, done by an Indian female artist Jeena Niaz in honor of Cristiano Ronaldo, has won several accolades and appreciation from across the world....

‘Find it difficult to write’: Salman Rushdie speaks out after attack

London, Feb 6 (IANS) Months after a near-lethal attack that left him debilitated and without vision in one eye, Sir Salman Rushdie says that he is "lucky" and has been told...

Mallika Sarabhai’s performance cancelled after culture minister’s diktat

Union culture minister G Kishan Reddy denied permission for a dance festival to be attended by renowned dancer Mallika Sarabhai at the Ramappa temple near Warangal in Telangana. A staunch...

No home yet for Mirza Ghalib as Agra forgets its literary heritage

Agra, Dec 27 (IANS) The 225th birth anniversary of Mirza Ghalib, the doyen of Urdu poetry, was a forgotten event in the Taj city, his birth place, though a ritualistic 'mushaira'...

A spymaster recounts his life in the shadows

New Delhi: Two things make a memoir riveting – memorable anecdotes and sharp comments about well-known people. When the author is a spook, as he calls himself after a lifetime...

Saffron Buddha draws teachers’ ire

Lucknow:  A Buddha statue made of cement and concrete and installed at the main gate of the College of Arts and Crafts in Lucknow University, was found painted in 'saffron'...

Read Previous

‘Sidhu anti-national’, Amarinder says he will fight move to make him CM

Read Next

Kolkata safest city among metros: NCRB report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :